Fat Girl Running
28 June, 2007 - 10:57 a.m.

I'm in one of my gung-ho fitness phases. I'm hoping to make this one last. Like forever. I'm currently in my sixth week of consistent exercise, which is still not as long as I went at the beginning of the year.

I managed to go seven weeks from the first of January, in the midst of cold and snow, because I was going to run that half marathon in May. Then I found out our friends were having their wedding celebration (they were married already in October), on that very weekend, and John's band was playing. In the hope that this would be their only marriage, and considering only one of our vehicles was legal to drive, I decided not to run my half marathon. After losing that motivation, I no longer felt the need to run in the crazy-cold weather and only ran sporadically for the next two and a half months.

During that time, I made the mistake of not weighing myself. It never fails... when I don't weigh myself, I get bigger. And bigger I got, gaining ten pounds in a mere 2.5 months! I was a productive girl. But that's not a good productive, and I became thoroughly disgusted with myself. Not only was I negating one of the few good things to come out of my seperation, but I was growing out of my clothes and looking quite awful. I threw out all my fat clothes except one pair of jeans that I kept to serve as reference of my fatness. I was growing back into that reference.

As my birthday neared, I decided my gift to myself was health, and I started walking/running again. Vamp started running with me again (she too was a lazy bum right along with me), and she even got a trainer who was kicking her booty in addition. She was shrinking before my eyes, and I was jealous as sin! I couldn't afford a trainer, but a free 21-day trial (good until June 30th, so hurry) presented itself. I started getting my booty kicked by a recorded trainer, and suddenly, I started finally losing weight.

I feel like I'm using every free tool available on the internet right now. I love MapMyRun more than anything! I just started using Traineo which is nice because it has graphs. I like graphs! It's a pretty simple, basic site compared to some of the others, but that's kind of nice. It also has that nice link button you can see on the left that tells how much weight I've lost. I also redid my Yahoo group, so it's not just Pittsburgh (link also on the left). I've been on FitDay forever, but never really used it. I mostly use that to track calories, which I just started doing again yesterday.

The exercise is going very well. The diet is not. I still eat lots and lots of crap, which could explain why I've only lost 4.5 pounds in six weeks of regular exercise (at least 5x/week for a minimum 30 min.). Yesterday, Vamp and I decided we are finally going to dig in and keep food journals. We also placed a bet. We have one allowed cheat day, but the rest of the week, no crap. If you eat crap, you owe the other $5, which is a lot in our worlds of brokeness. If we both cheat, it goes in a pot for the next week. Considering I already had my cheat day on the very first day, I am feeling a lot like Kramer on Seinfeld from the "Master of My Domain" episode.

My first day highlighted the main problems in my food life. We had a complementary lunch at work. I didn't bring my own lunch in anticipation of this free lunch. Turned out, the free lunch was pizza. It was a very busy, stressful day at work, which is a recipe for eating crap, but I limited myself to one slice of tomato pizza and some salad. I went home to find John, who worked from home and responsible for dinner on Wednesdays, ordering a pizza for dinner. I was starving and hogged out on four slices of pizza.


So... I clearly need to eat more and better food during the day. It's extremely hard to find time for snacks at work, but I'm going to have to invest in some quick, easy snacks. That way I won't be tempted by the usual crap that always seems to be available at work. I have to bring in my lunch no matter what too.

I'm not sure what to do about home. When John and I both work, we get home so late that everyone is really hungry, so we need quick food. Quick usually means crappy. When John stays home, he's lazy, and he doesn't cook (same as lazy). He too has gained a lot of weight, but he seems totally uninterested in doing anything about it. He is incredibly stubborn and resistant to change or even the suggestion of change. My problem is I find it extremely hard to resist junk when other people are eating it. If we pick up fast food or order take-out, I can't stand eating a salad while everyone else is eating cheesy goodness. I'll have to work on this problem some more.

I think I've covered enough topics for the day. I really need to work on being more focused in my entries.

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:
Nothing

|

< previous | next >