Boring Workout Stuff
30 June, 2007 - 11:38 a.m.

I was kind of avoiding weights for a while and just sticking to running. In the past, weights were one of my mainstays when trying to get in shape, as they should be. But as I started working out again, I couldn't get past how my weight loss stalled, even though I was running like crazy. My body fat was going down, but I was stuck on the fact my weight was not. I wasn't measuring myself either, which was pretty stupid too. It didn't seem to matter that I wasn't even watching what I ate or that my clothes were fitting great, even at a higher weight. I couldn't get my mind off that number on the scale.

It was obviously still on my mind, because as I started up exercise again in May, I consciously decided not to do weights until my cardio routine was well-established. Then Vamp started with the personal trainer, who was making her do crazy weights, and she was looking damn good. Then, I started downloading workouts from Podfitness and the recommended program for me included weights. I figured it was time.

The first workout was for the core, and it was tough, but I got through it OK. Just about the time I was getting smug about how great I was, my abs started aching. They ached something fierce the first day afterward and didn't fully recover for three whole days. It hurt to laugh. It hurt to turn the steering wheel. It hurt to exist. But I got through it.

The next strength training time included a full body workout. The Podfitness workout I did was the Cardio Sculpt program with Jeannette Jenkins. She doesn't prescribe specific weights, so I went a little lighter than I knew I could do. She does higher reps, and I wasn't sure how well I'd be able to do it.

Thank God I did! While I got through the workout without a problem, the next 4-5 days were hell. I walked like I was nine months pregnant for a whole day. I dreaded movement after standing or sitting for any length of time. Once I got moving, it wasn't so bad, but getting moving was agony.

Since then, I found several good articles regarding strength training, which further convinces me I can't ignore it anymore. This article has some great information about why girls need to lift weights too, and the author is fun to read (much better than I am). There are lots of great articles at this site, but this one in particular really addresses the issue of why girls should strength train.

I was going my best to ignore it for a little while though, because I hadn't done another full body workout until yesterday. I decided to follow Josh's advice of doing heavier weight and fewer reps, so I wasn't doing the 20-25 reps Jeannette was recommending in my Podfitness workout. I got worn out faster and had bigger breaks in between. I could have done the whole workout in half the time, which I probably will do as I get better, but for now it's nice to be told what to do. My legs and butt are sore again today, but it's not the waddle-inducing ache of before. Either I'm already getting better, or I took it too easy this time. We'll see.

Today is cardio, which I haven't done yet. It's super-nice outside, so I'll probably go run in the park. I think I'll do an interval workout, which I've also been reading about lately, but I'll write more on that later. Tomorrow I should be running with Vamp, but she's bagged on me the past few times. Lazy bitch. Tomorrow is my long, slow run and the beginning of training for my 10K in September.

Think I'm tackling a lot? Well, I've also read that people do better when they try to accomplish more. So instead of taking the "baby step" method, I'm really pushing myself. And the results are happening. If my weight holds, I'll have lost another 1.5 lbs this week.

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:
Nothing

|

< previous | next >