Running Toward My Goals
31 January, 2008 - 3:44 p.m.

I ran outside today! I did a quick half mile once a few weeks ago, but I didn't get back out there until today. So this would be my first real outdoor run since July 1 when I broke my ankle.

I've been running on the treadmill a decent amount, but my treadmill broke and won't even get looked at for another week. Since I started weight training again last week and didn't run (using the treadmill being broken as an excuse), I put on a couple pounds. While my body fat actually decreased a tiny bit, I don't like going up too much on the scale. After going a few days to mourn the temporary loss of my treadmill, I knew it was time to get back outside.

I actually prefer running outside. The treadmill is just so convenient (and easier on my aging joints), and it's only chilly in my basement versus stupid-cold outside. I haaaaaate cold! But I don't have any good excuses not to get out there anyway. I was running in the cold last year, and I have plenty of cold-weather running gear.

The only excuse I found is the dark. I dragged my lazy ass out of bed early all week this week, but it's still dark then. Plus, it's even colder in the morning, and I can only take so much cold before I say, "Nay!" By the time I get home after work, it's dark again. My biggest concern with running in the dark is not being able to see where I'm going and spraining or breaking my ankle again. I don't think I can deal with that right now. My solution was to figure out a couple of running routes during the day on my days off that I can then do without fear when it's dark.

I really didn't want to go out in the cold, but this is a choice between staying the same fat Cindy or doing what I have to do to change into the fit and trim Cindy. As long as I continue to think that way, I do very well. Everything I eat, and all the exercise I do or don't do requires the same choice. Every decision either brings me toward my goals or moves me away from them, down to the very bite of brownie. It's not that I can't enjoy things, but I just have to be sure that in the grand scheme of things I am moving in the right direction.

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >