Made a List (again)
03 March, 2012 - 12:05 p.m.

I'm good at lists. It may very well be the best thing I do. Sadly, making lists doesn't do much to get the things done or buy the things on that list. That requires actually doing something, at which I am not so good.

As has been the case since I started writing here... OK, OK, since I was born (except that short period during high school when I was possessed by a much neater soul than my own and kept things clean), my house is a disaster--not a Hoarders caliber disaster but a no-one-better-come-over-unless-they-like-standing-on-the-front-porch disaster. Who am I kidding? I'm even embarrassed by my front porch. And the walkway leading up to it. And the yard through which that walkway goes. Sadly, all those things are better than the house itself. It's not dirty, just messy and cluttered and probably about ten items shy of qualifying for a Clean House makeover. All right... maybe not. While messy, those shows still make me feel better about my own state of disastrous house. I refuse to watch those shows anymore though, because the last thing I need to be doing is feeling better about how much cleaner my house is than those who have serious, possibly medically diagnosable, problems.

Where was I? See... there's my problem. I get distracted. By anything. I can also justify things in such a way I should probably have been a lawyer. I put off doing things by doing other things I can find a way to label "important" in some way. Can't get in the front door without tripping over eight pairs of shoes and two bags full of much-needed items from that shopping trip last week? Yeah, well, I am problem-solving that very thing on Pinterest right now. Look at all these marvelous organizational ideas? Oh... and I have a load of laundry that's likely done now.

That is my life.

What was the point of all this? List-making. Yes.

This list contains items I need to do disguised under the title of "Things That Will Make Me Happy". "To Do" sounds like drudgery. The new title serves as a reminder for why I have all these tasks. Considering I have been very far from happy, and a large contributor to my mood is the sad state of my home, doing this crap will make me happy.

And if that doesn't work, there is always humiliation. I plan to start posting pictures again. Hopefully they will be Before and After pictures, but if I don't do the After, then there will just be Before. I should just post all my Before pictures on Facebook, so I can be really embarrassed by my friends and family, but I don't think I'm quite that far gone yet.

Time to take up the remaining space on my iPhone with some atrocious living conditions.

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >