Going Back to Work
03 May, 2006 - 12:22 p.m.

I decided I needed to go back to work a while ago. Since I'm still technically an employee (casual... they call me when they need someone) at the hospital wound center, I gave my boss a call. When I worked there, we never had enough staff, didn't even have our own clinic area, and I was stuck in the office rather than being in the clinic like my job title said I should be. It's all different there now. They have a nice, new facility and lots of staff, so it's like a real job rather than being near slavery. Of course, that also means they didn't need another permanent employee. So strike one for me.

I was really looking for something I could do during the day while the kids are in school, so I could still fulfill my chauffer and maid duties to my family. Even though the world still mainly operates during daylight hours, a part-time, daytime job is not so easy to find. I scanned the newspaper and internet, found something once in a while, and sent a resume and cover letter to a few places. I got one interview that didn't pan out. Strike two.

As vacation came closer, I started thinking it might not be such a good idea to get a job only to demand I get a week off. I slowed in searching and figured I'd pick it back up again later. Then John sent me a job posting that would allow me to work from home. I had to totally revamp my resume. It took me two days, but I did it and nervously pressed "send" in the email. I don't know why that particular job made me so stressed, but it did.

A few days later, I get a call, but it wasn't from the place I sent my resume. It was my boss at the hospital. I figured she was calling to see if I could fill in for a day or two, since that's why she usually called. I'm sure it's obvious, since I'm talking about getting a job, she asked if I would be interested in coming back to work permanently. One of the techs gave his notice. He's currently full-time, but the boss seemed quite willing to accomodate me with part-time hours. I'm just not sure if that's what she wants long-term, and I turned down her request for me to drive to the off-site clinic on Thursdays which is about an hour and a half drive one way for me. I am definitely filling in for the two weeks before I go on vacation, and she and I will discuss the situation further at that time.

I hope it works out, because the situation is quite perfect. Not only would I have the hours I want, but going back to permanent status makes me eligible for benefits like health insurance, which may actually be cheaper than going through John's company, and like tuition assistance.

Speaking of tuition, the university adult education office called me this week to see what's going on, since I haven't rescheduled my counselor appointment I had in January. I'll probably attend one of their Saturday seminars soon and at least keep things moving along in that arena.

Seems things are coming together quite well now. I sure hope so. We are desperate for the money, and I would really like to finally get in school.

Since this is my last week of freedom, I'm scrambling to get things clean around here, though I don't feel like I'm doing well at all. It seems everything takes much longer than I expect. A project like cleaning the stove so we can switch it out for the new one, takes almost all day since I haven't done it in so darn long. I want laundry as caught up as laundry can be too, because Lord knows if I start work with that already behind, I'll spend all the money I make buying clothes to have something clean to wear. Speaking of all the things I have to do, I better shut up.

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >