Daily Weight
18 August, 2005 - 8:15 a.m.

John is staying home. No surprise. No excitement either. Funny thing is, as I was writing how I don't like how his days off are sacred, he asked about what I was writing. I said he didn't want to know. He said I don't know him. After considering it for while, I did tell him. We discussed it. No argument, just talking, which was good for after midnight. Even after talking, I'm still uncomfortable with him being home today. Like he said, he can't change everything at once.


I got on the scale again this morning. That's three days in a row. Evne though all the weight loss gods tell me I shouldn't weigh myself more than once a week, I find weighing myself each morning helps keep me in check better. I start off the day with my goal in mind. I can't hog out today and make up for it tomorrow or the day before weigh-in. I had a rituatl when I was in Weight Watchers of eating like crazy right after weigh-in and eating less and less as the week went on until starving the day before until I was weighed again. Somehow I don't think that's what they wanted me to do, but it did work. Still, daily weighing works better when it's just me. It's a much bigger threat to have someone else weigh me once a week than to weigh myself. The biggest threat I can bring down on myself is knowing exactly where I stand each day. I realize there can be, and are, big fluctuations from day to day. It's normal, and I accept that. I only mark down my Sunday weigh-in for the long-term trend.

Over the past three days, my weight has fluctuated a bit. I was very unhappy when I stopped on for Sunday weigh-in and saw it climb to 206.5. I was holding steady at 202 after quitting exercising for a while and going back above 200. I wasn't surprised with this recent rise though. All that birthday cake eating had to catch up to me sometime. Sometime is now.

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >