Disjointed Update
18 April, 2008 - 12:44 p.m.

Wow... so I kinda forgot about this. It changed around here too. At least from this side of things.

Anyway, I've been working out quite consistently since January until the past few weeks. I took three days off in a row the first week of April, another three off last week, and three off this week. I've been pooped out, and about a week and a half ago, battling migraine problems. Went to the doctor today for that and have to get an MRI and MRA of my head. It's about time someone decided to see the mess that's inside that old cranium of mine.

Hopefully I'm back on track with working out, but that all depends on how the head feels. I'm excited to get back to it, which I couldn't have said two weeks ago. Just had one of those slumps, and it wasn't just with exercise, but in all aspects of my life.

It kind of surprised me to be in such a funk, since I've been having sessions with a life coach for a little over a month now. I was a lucky duck that got in on some free coaching, because he's going for a certification. He's such a positive guy, and it makes me happy just talking with him. I went into it thinking it was a bunch of bunk, but it's turned out to be quite helpful. It's a lot like therapy without the digging up a bunch of old junk, but rather focusing on what can be done now to reach my goals.

First, I had to figure out what my goals really were. As can be seen by reading through the babble on here, I haven't been so good at committing to any goals. I'll go along for a while, and then change my mind. So first, he helped me narrow things down, so I have something to which to work toward. So I'm going to get some certifications and education and become a personal trainer/coach and set up a gym.

I've become very interested in the CrossFit and Gym Jones style of working out, and there isn't much around here like that. There is a CrossFit gym waaaaaay across town, but that's not reasonable for me. I need to do some more research on the whole gym thing, but I would definitely love to so something like that.

In the meantime, I'm lifting big honkin' weights, did my first jumping chin-ups, training to run the WHOLE Race for the Cure 5K on May 11th, doing a boot camp for four weeks starting May 12th, and getting ready to sign up for some classes.

In other areas, I have to plan a graduation party for my eldest child and get my house clean for out of town guests. I ALWAYS have to get my house clean, so that's nothing new. My daughter is nearly thirteen and driving me CRAZY. We had to take her door off the hinges, because she has revealed herself as a little demon. AIM is the debil, as is text messaging, MySpace, and all new-fangled technology (I say as I shake my imaginary cane). I now know why parents lock their kids in closets and cages.

I'm home today, but I won't be doing too much, as my head is KILLING ME after seeing the doctor today. I'd normally be at work right now. I wish I were just playing hooky, because it is GORGEOUS outside.

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >