Renewed Commitment To Myself
29 December, 2001 - 2:53 p.m.

Renewed Commitment To Myself

Even though my cold has taken yet another turn for the worse, as has Booie's, I'm still making plans to get back on an exercise program. I haven't done anything since the last time I talked about doing a Tae-Bo tape. I think that was last month. I don't even know. That's how long it's been. So my workouts haven't been going well, but my health hasn't either. I've spent more of the last month sick than not, and that isn't conducive to working out. I foresee wellness in my future though, and unless I'm feeling like utter crap, I'm going to workout anyway.

Besides the cold, the holidays and subsequent stress always make for a big exercise obstacle. When there are so many other things to do, it's hard to make time to get all sweaty and clean up afterward. Even if I only do a half hour tape, that still makes for an hour of my time lost. I know it's not really lost, considering I'm taking care of myself, but taking care of myself isn't the main focus during the season of giving. I'm sure that lack of attention has something to do with my wretched low immune system, but there's not much to be done for that now.

I think that's why New Year's is such a big deal as far as resolutions. Not only is it the start of another year where you can feel like you're wiping the slate clean, but it's the end of the stress and hectic schedules of the holidays, unless you're me, and you have about a zillion birthdays coming up in the month of January and February (six to be exact). Even with the birthdays though, I won't be as busy. I do still have the training at the FIL's office to work into my life, since I'll be going back there on the 2nd, but that's no more than most people do. It's a new beginning for me all around.

I doubt I'll be able to run again for a while. Some activities still bother my ankle, even though it's been nearly three months since I injured it. The pounding stress of running is more than it can bear, especially considering the weight I've gained from not moving at all. Right now, I'm sticking to walking and Tae-Bo. I hoped to do some mountain biking this winter, but I been doing that up until now either. Being out of practice, overweight and unaccustomed to snow and ice don't make a good combination. I am limited on what I can do, but that doesn't stop a real athlete. That's what I want to be, so that's what I'll do.

I still have to decide on a template for my fitness journal. I really have to decide on everything for my fitness journal. I don't know how much content I want. Do I want to put down what I eat and drink along with what I do? Do I dare put my weight in print on the Internet? I just don't know yet. I'm obviously going to talk about my thoughts and feelings and junk like that, but how extensive it will be is beyond me. I suppose it should be as extensive as I would do on paper at home. What's the point of doing it if I'm not going to do everything and eliminate the paper? It takes a certain amount of bravery though, and I don't know how much of that I have yet.

Unless I wake up feeling as thoroughly crap-o-licious as I did this morning, I'm beginning tomorrow. My initial plan is to complete a 21 Day Challenge with my Tae-Bo tapes. I've done it before, and I really loved it� and hated it too. I liked the challenge and motivation. It did keep me going and made me feel really good when it was done. There were days I regretted it though and literally forced myself to do it. I always felt good when I was done though, so overall, it was probably a good thing. I suppose that's why I'm willing to do it again. I took one day a week where I just practiced form and movement to make sure I did what could be considered a rest day, since I know it's not good to exercise seven days a week. I probably dreaded those most of all though, and I still don't know why. But anyway, tomorrow that begins. At least I hope so.


Decluttering:

Peanut butter jar
Two detergent caps
Boxes and junk I didn't bother to throw away before


Previous|Next

One year ago
I'm Hopeless - I get mad at others for what I dislike in myself.

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >