Something New, and Some Old Stuff Too
02 January, 2002 - 11:24 a.m.

Something New, and Some Old Stuff Too

I have failed disastrously at starting my exercise program when I said I would, but I have accomplished something. I started my new fitness journal, Cynthesis. That should lessen the food and exercise talk here, not that I won't ever do it again. I'm using a weblog format for the other journal, because I'll be adding stuff throughout the day if I do it right. So if you're interested in that sort of thing, I have all kinds of personal dirt (I did my measurements today) over there. It's disgusting, so prepare yourself accordingly.

The year has started off fairly well for me. I didn't have to write an entry yesterday, and even though I sort of felt like it, I didn't do one out of sheer rebellion. We spent a quiet New Year's Eve at home this year, and I really liked not going out. We didn't have to pile the tired, crabby kids in the car after celebrating, and we got to go to bed just when we wanted. No drive home. No worries about drunk drivers. No frigid cold. That's the way I was used to spending New Year's Eve. It's only since we moved here that we started going out and doing the celebration thing.

We had a nice dinner at the inlaws yesterday afternoon. I still can't seem to kick this headcold, and I was feeling mighty miserable by the time we arrived, so I took some cold medicine my MIL had. What a mistake! Though it cleared up my symptoms, I was Cindy Space Cadet the rest of the time I was there. I'd go into these blank stares, and I hardly talked. I was glad to get home and be able to stare at things without worrying about ignoring people.

I'm still sick today. I should just say when I'm well. I've had this for so long that it seems to be the norm now rather than feeling good. It's been an immunity roller coaster ride. I keep thinking I'm getting better, and then I feel worse again. Booie still has it too. Now I'm worrying about strep, because Booie's friend got it, and she had been at his house only a couple days before he came down with it. My hypochondriac brain is working overtime too, and the little ache on the right side of my throat has me believing I've got it. It's more likely from the stupid wisdom tooth over there that finally thinks it should make an appearance, but it wouldn't be like me to think logically like that.

Of course, my other worry is the way this year is mirroring last year as far as Booie being sick goes. She had a headcold in December, just like this year. She got strep in January, and then the symptoms for her ADE showed up right after that. It was so close, that we and the doctors both thought it was something to do with strep, which it turned out it wasn't. Hopefully, I'm worrying myself for nothing. Boo seems just fine so far and went to school today like normal.

Once I finally exercise today, which I will do, I'm going to do some cleaning. Last year, I documented the mess that was my basement, but since I still haven't sent out our digital camera to be fixed, I can't do that this year. I'll do it when I finally get the camera back. I'm not committing that mess to real film, nosiree! I don't think it looks any better than it did last year at this time, though there are now three pinball machines down there, and there was no way we could have fit them last year, so I must have done something right. Still, there's a lot more to do, and I'm back to decluttering every day, so maybe I'll dig out of the pit yet.

I did change my plan on the decluttering though. I decided not to limit it to the basement. There's junk all over the house, so I can't exclude the rest of the place like that. The basement is the worst, but if I just focus on that, places like the refrigerator get pretty skunky, as can be seen by yesterday's decluttering list.

Now I'm just avoiding what I should be doing, and I'm not even being entertaining with it either. It's time to exercise and then clean!


Decluttering:

Two shirts of Booie's that don't fit anymore
Pair of Booie's pajamas that don't fit anymore


Previous|Next

One year ago
No, it's not a landfill - Documenting the pig sty that is my basement.

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >