Tracking Time
3 January, 2001 - 10:34 AM

Tracking Time

So, I went on a mission yesterday to find a calendar. I'm very picky about my calendars and must have a certain one. When I get it in my head that such-and-such calendar is the one I want, no other will do. I've always been that way. It started with cute little kitten and kitty calendars when I was little, which easily transitioned to Purina Cat Chow calendars. Then it was Duran Duran calendars during my years lost to fawning over them, after which I went back to cats, had a couple year fling with whatever calendar caught my eye, then moved onto Anne Geddes baby calendars. Now, as it has been for the past three years, I must have American Cat calendars.

Yeah, I'm back to cats, but these are special. The artist, Lowell Herrero, paints the pictures of these cats. I love them. My only regret is not getting these calendars for the past fourteen years they've been created. How can you not like a calendar that says, "Thank you for collecting our calendars year after year," in the back?

I always wait until after Christmas to buy my calendar, but after this year, that might change. I had to go to the bookstore where I usually find it but not this year, then the mall where I visited five different stores that didn't have it, then another mall where I visited at least five more stores before I found it at the last store. If I weren't so cheap and wanted my calendars at 50% off, I would have already had American Cat on my wall. But at least I have it. Had I not found it, I would have ordered it at full price plus shipping from the very slow Lang web site. I'm that obsessed.

In an effort to be more positive, I want to share some of the things I bitch about and then find something good in them.

Bad: It took me a trip to a bookstore, two malls and ten stores to find the calendar I wanted.
Good: I found the calendar at the last store.

Bad: I need a hair cut. I haven't had one in about three months.
Good: Long hair keeps me warm.

Bad: I am almost out of my favorite Celestial Seasonings Vanilla Maple tea, and the store doesn't carry it anymore.
Good: I have five teabags left.

Bad: We are all out of or terribly low on socks and underwear.
Good: They are washed and just need dried.

Bad: I found out today that Hammy doesn't take his antibiotic for only ten days but for twenty. What the hell?
Good: He shouldn't catch strep or any other bacterial bug again for another ten days.

Bad: My house is a mess.
Good: I shouldn't be bored for days.

Bad: I couldn't find Riven, the old, substandard sequel to Myst, for under $29.99.
Good: I really don't need something draining my time.

Bad: I was told I can't exert myself (that means train for an adventure race) for at least five days from the time I got sick, and after that, can't train hard.
Good: I won't make myself sick again by pushing too hard.

Bad: I didn't get Christmas cards sent out until December 30th.
Good: I got them sent out before the year 2001, and I didn't have to pay an extra cent in postage, saving me a whole 40 cents.

Bad: My mom had to put one of their cats to sleep.
Good: He was suffering from a cancer in his mouth and had stopped eating. He was spared a lot of pain.

PeeWee


Today I got rid of:

A lint roller that stuck to everything except lint


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >