Plans Awry
6 December, 2000 - 10:43 AM

Plans Awry

Sometimes, things not going the way you planned can be good. This morning, I had every intention of staying in bed as long as possible. It was damn cold out, and I didn't want to get up. j took the dog out for me. Booie used a "free day" to stay home from school, so I didn't have to take her. I was lying in my nice, warm bed all set to sleep in and write a journal entry about how lazy I am, but I couldn't sleep. I wasn't even tired. I was awake, and for once, I wasn't freezing to death.

Not being able to sleep or even bear staying in bed a minute longer was only the first wrench in my lazy day. As soon as I set foot out of bed, the dog was doing her take-me-out back-end wag. When she needs to go out to do pressing business, it's not just her tail that wags, but her whole back half. When I asked Hammy if she took care of everything on their first trip outside, it was confirmed there was unfinished business. That meant getting dressed and going out in the cold. The only difference between getting dressed to take the dog out and getting dressed to take Boo to school is I don't feel the need to put on a bra and brush my hair to look decent for the dog. That only counts for partial laziness. That's not full-on lazy.

So I was awake and out of bed and dressed and went outside, not a good start to a lazy day. I was beginning to feel like Booie's free day from school was going to go to waste for me. Sure, she gets to watch all the Nick Jr. she wants. That's what free days are all about around here; missing school for no good reason, watching all the TV you want, wearing your pajamas all day and getting to eat cereal for breakfast, lunch and dinner if you so desire. The kids get two free days per school year. They are kind of like personal days in the working world. I think kids need days off sometimes too; even if it's only Kindergarten letter books and cold weather they don't feel like facing that day.

Booie's free days are much more conducive to lazy days for me, since I don't have to take her to school and pick her up. Hammy is self-sufficient in that respect. He's past the days of needing supervision. When Booie was still home last year, I barely had to wake up to say goodbye to Ham before he left for school. Getting up just meant watching him go about his business while he ignored me. Booie rarely got up before nine o'clock, so I made lazy a daily ritual. Boo's days off now are like a flashback to those days. It's an opportunity to revisit lazy.

Not today, it seems. Last year, we didn't have a dog, and I wasn't used to getting up at 7:30 every morning. Today in particular, I'm seeing the fruits of my laziness from the past week in the form of dishes needing washed, laundry needing done and a house needing cleaned. It's eating at me. That's a big strike three to my lazy day. I just can't take the mess anymore. I interrupted writing this just so I could go load the dishwasher. It was making me that crazy. On a day begging for laziness, I don't feel lazy at all.

It's not like there isn't more than enough for me to do. I also spend enough days being lazy when I shouldn't to offset this. If I die after a productive day, it's certainly not going to make me remembered as less of a procrastinator or a slacker. People would probably think I died from overexertion. But I'm not going to focus on my shortcomings today. I was going to, but responsibility crept in. So now I have to go roll my dishwasher across the kitchen and get it running.


Yesterday I got rid of:

Miscellaneous papers we don't need


Today I got rid of:

Longaberger Christmas flyers that expire in two days


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >