Elections, Dogs and Aches
7 November, 2000 - 10:38 AM

Election Day Dread

It's been twelve years since I voted. The first time I voted was another presidential election. I was equally unhappy with my choices that year. I never bothered to vote again until now because changing my address and name on my registration was too much of a hassle for me. I just didn't care enough. I probably wouldn't even be voting this year if it weren't for Internet registration. I should have had my registration changed at the DMV when I got my new driver's license, but the guy at the desk conveniently pushed the wrong key and decided it wasn't worth his time to go back and change it. I guess changing my registration was too much of a hassle for him too.

It's changed now, and I have my voter card, and I'm even going to go vote when John gets home. I will be glad when it's all over and people quit telling me what to do with my undecided self. I'm in a key state with a whole lot of electoral votes up for grabs. Seems I'm not the only person in Pennsylvania who's undecided. That means we don't see real commercials anymore. The only commercial I really enjoyed was a mudslinger that revealed one of the candidates for Congress voted to tax our pizza. Well, count on me not to vote for him! Taxing my pizza. Sheesh. What's really scary is that information might actually sway a vote. Pizza is pretty important here.

I don't know why I'm talking about this if I'm so sick of it. Moving on�

Going to the dogs

Rocky is still at the Humane Society. He's been there about a month. It breaks my heart to see them there so long. I haven't walked dogs in several weeks, so I don't know for sure that he really is still there. It's probably better I don't know. The shelter is not No-Kill yet. They have a plan to work toward it by 2005, but they need more support and volunteers. We hope to become a foster home, but we need a fenced yard first. I wish there was more I could do.

I am volunteering to help at the Pictures with Santa event being held at Petsmart. That should be interesting. As long as no snakes come in, I'll be ok. Posing your snake with Santa for your Christmas cards would be quite hilarious though. Just don't send them to me.

The Animal Friends had their Black Tie & Tails fundraiser over the weekend. I would volunteer for all the shelters in the city if I could, but I think one is enough for now. Animal Friends already has a no-kill policy, but they also don't take in every animal. With great ideas like this dinner, they should be able to shelter more animals too.

I'm sick and achy

I made what was a very mild head cold into a high producing snot factory with my rum overindulgence. I would probably be better by now if I hadn't lushed it up.

My lower back hurts. I have cramps. I also can't quit sleeping on my stomach, which doesn't do good things for my back.

This is going from bad to worse. I just need to shut up and do laundry.


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >