Beginning of the Mystery
13 January, 2001 - 9:55 PM

This and the next few entries are transposed from my paper journal I've been keeping while at the hospital. They were written as things happened. It's been a bumpy ride. If I only knew then what I know now.

Beginning of the Mystery

It has been such a long day. I had another long night, staying up with L. I couldn't sleep well once I did get to bed. I ended up getting up early even though J took L to the doctor in the morning. It wasn't long after that my day was condemned to the hospital ER.

We packed up j, the dog and L, took the first two to stay with Grandma while the rest of us went to the hospital. We spent the day waiting with a few doctor's visits as interruption, until she was finally admitted. So it's a night at the hospital for me and L while J gets to sleep peacefully in our own bed. I'd be jealous if it didn't mean being away from my little girl.

The good news, L is getting some pain relief thanks to Tylenol with codiene. Her blood tests came back normal but for some results consistent with joint pain. Her heart looks good too, so rheumatic fever seems unlikely. The bad news is they aren't terribly sure about the whole thing, and we don't know how long it might last. She will probably be out of here by tomorrow at least. I'm just glad the pain is under control. Her crying and screaming was breaking my heart.

Needless to say, I didn't run today.


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >