No End In Sight
15 June, 2001 - 12:00 p.m.

No End In Sight

The electrician came over today to change the breaker for the air conditioner. Turns out, the problem is not the breaker. There is an outside power line running to the AC that appears to be shorting out. The electrician didn't have time to do that, so he had to leave. My hopes for having air by this afternoon were dashed.

I called the landlord, but he's not home. I left a message. I gave him my cell phone number. I refuse to stay in this house yet another day, waiting for people and phone calls. He can call me on my cell phone while I'm in the cool comfort of some store. It's supposed to get hot again today, and it's already humid.

I have come to the conclusion that I'm going to have to deal with this for a very long time, so I may as well quit bitching about it and get on with life. I haven't come to a complete halt. I have been gardening, and I'm trying to do chores in the cooler morning hours. I'm not waiting for the rainstorm the weather people keep predicting that never shows up or the cooler temps that continue to remain two days away. I have to get things done.

I also have to go grocery shopping. Everything I have needs cooked, either in the oven or on the stove. That won't be happening, so I have to go get some microwave food. I think the purchase of a grill might not be such a bad idea either.

Despite the hot weather, I'm following my training program. If I didn't take so long to evolve each morning, I'd get up early to work out. I am waking up pretty early as it is, because I have a terrible time sleeping when I'm hot and sticky, but the poor quality of sleep keeps me even further away from accomplishing any physical activity. I'm quite proud of myself that I'm not letting the heat or humidity become yet another excuse to not work out.

Today, I run and do strength training. The sweat factor is actually much higher for me with strength training. I don't know why, but exercise that keeps me relatively still makes me sweat buckets. When I Tae-bo, I sweat just about the same as all the people on the video until there is stretching or floor work. Then I start dripping all over the place. It's disgusting I know. I'm a pig (or a racehorse, if you want to be technical about the pigs and sweat issue).

I rode my bike yesterday. It was another trip around the neighborhood, but it still had my thighs screaming for mercy. I hate to even think how hard a single track will be. I have yet to experience the cushy comfort of the new seat, because I don't have the proper tools to change the seats out, and I have looked. Seems I need a special hex driver, and it's not easy to find at your average hardware store, so it's another trip to the bike shop for me. Of course, I put that out-of-the-way excursion low on my list of things to do, so I haven't yet done it, so I rode with the vinyl covered brick, and my butt isn't near as sore as last time. It still hurts, mind you, but I can get in and out of the truck without wincing. Makes me wonder if I really need the extravagantly padded seat, but I'll try it anyway. It is much too inviting to take back.

I'm now quite a bit overdue in turning off the computer, but I'm going shopping, so I won't be here to suffer for it. I'm putting the dog downstairs, so she doesn't have to suffer either. She won't know to thank me for it, but I know. If I didn't have plans to scoop the litter box first, I know she'd thank me for it, but� ew! We'll be taking her to the park tonight when we go to a concert there, so she'll be happy nonetheless, and without barf-inducing breath. What a lovely note to end on!


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >