Bad News Here, Bad News There
17 May, 2003 - 6:04 p.m.

Another journal writer and her husband had a terrible tragedy when their apartment building burned to the ground. They lost everything, including their dog, and renter's insurance is only going to cover about half. I don't know Allison personally, but I have read her site from time to time, and even if I didn't, something like that deserves help from wherever it comes. If you would like to donate to help them out, you can click the button below.

In other bad news, my grandma is in the hospital. I found out about it yesterday just before we left to go to my kids' school picnic at the local amusement park. I did not feel very amused as we drove over there. I felt like going in my room and crying for a while. I've had a bad feeling about my grandma all week long, and that news didn't seem like a good sign.

My mom called today, and it seems Grandma is doing better now. They drained a liter of fluid from her, and they hope to get two more. I can't even imagine having that much fluid in me. She's breathing a lot easier now, so that's good. That stubborn woman has never taken her water pills like she should, only taking one when she thinks she needs it ("My ankles look swollen today, so I'll take one.") I hope my aunt, mom, and sister can knock some sense into her. She will be in the hospital for a while yet, so maybe the doctor can talk some sense into her too.

This brings up all kinds of thoughts and emotions about my grandma that I really don't want to confront right now, but I'll probably feel the need to write about it later. There is a shadow there.

I'm going to watch a hairy, scowly Hugh Jackman to cheer myself up.

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:
I Hit Back (from two years ago)

|

< previous | next >