Since I'm On Hold
18 January, 2002 - 3:12 p.m.

Since I'm On Hold

I thought I'd pass a little time here and update with a more cheerful entry than last time. I'm waiting to talk to someone at the Nebraska Child Support place, because they automated their system, and that always causes problems. For me it meant they decided my last name suddenly reverted back to my maiden name, even though I've been receiving checks in my married name for nearly eight years. I don't even know that the bank will cash this, but you know damn well I'm going to try. If I have to bring my birth certificate in with me, I'll get this check cashed. It's going to pay for Hammy's braces when it's time to glue them on. But I don't want to have to dig out the birth certificate twice a month to cash a stupid check, so I'm on hold to get my name changed to what it should be.

Oh, that wasn't bad at all. All taken care of, and I only had to wait on hold for ten minutes. I should have started writing a long time ago, so they would have answered the call sooner.

Hammy will be home in a matter of minutes, and he and I are going to get our hair cut. My hairdresser just had a baby, so I have to go find someone else. Luckily, I don't really worry about how it turns out, so I can go just about anywhere. I'll just make sure to avoid Supercuts, so I don't end up looking like Rob, though he never showed us a picture of how bad his cut really turned out. Regardless, if my hair ended up that short, I'd be more than miffed about it. I want it cut a lot shorter than it is but not that short.

I think I might stop by the grocery store finally too. I have put that off for something like two weeks. The only reason we don't starve is because we eat out all the damn time. Not having food in the house only causes us to continue that bad trend, so I shall go buy some much more healthy convenience foods from the grocery store. If I buy a whole bunch of stuff I have to make, it will never get done, and we'll end up eating out anyway. Then about two weeks later, I have a fridge full of rotten food that didn't get used. I can try to make some real food maybe once or twice a week, but other than that, it's all frozen or out of a box. Yes, you may pity my family.

They will get a nice home-cooked meal this evening though. Not by me of course. My brother-in-law's big, old thirtieth birthday is today, so we're going to his house. He's making a vat of spaghetti. How he decided to have people over and feed them dinner made by his own hands was a good idea of how to spend a birthday is beyond me, but I'll happily slurp down a plateful of spaghetti in his honor. It's not just any spaghetti either. It's a recipe from his grandma that is chock full of onions and has a sweet, runny sauce. They call it German style spaghetti, whatever that means. I just call it good.

It looks like Hammy is done with his snack, so it's time for me to go. Ooo, I'll snap a before and after shot with the webcam we have! I forgot about that thing. It takes pretty shitty pictures, but it's better than nothing. No, I still haven't sent off our digital camera for repair. I'm an idiot, but you all knew that already. I'll do it before February arrives. Until then, I can use the webcam. I wish I would have thought of that sooner.


Decluttering:

I think this would be called a break. Next week, I swear I'll start up again.


Previous|Next

One year ago
Not So Mysterious - Short entry about possibly having a diagnosis for Boo's condition; so short in fact, that this is almost as long.

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >