How I'm Doing
20 March, 2001 - 10:47 a.m.

How I'm Doing

Damn that looks comfy!This is an example of how we both feel after our run/walk today. I finally did it after putting it off for two days. I did Tae-bo yesterday though, so it's not like I did nothing at all. Shut-up and let me justify my actions!

I still have to do strength training. John wanted to Tae-bo yet again today (he's actually been doing it with me the past two times), but I don't think I'm going to be up for it. I really don't want to overdo this. The last thing I need is another setback.

I need to shampoo that carpet! Do you think that counts as exercise?

The diet? Well, I stayed under my caloric limit yesterday, but um� well� I didn't eat so well. It's all that stress. I'm pleased just to be able to say there's still food left in my house much less that I didn't go over calories, so it's an accomplishment really. Come on! It is. It is.

The stress? I'm still waiting. The phone didn't ring at all last night but for my brother-in-law. I don't know if that's good or bad. I really would have rather heard something yesterday. The class is on a field trip today, so I'm really not sure if there will be any progression on the matter at all. Hammy was warned to stay as far away from that kid as possible, like he hasn't been doing that already. Just give me a little slack here, would you? I'm a worried mom.

I have to go back to the dentist tomorrow too. Did I tell you that? I didn't think so. At least I'm going right away. I had four fillings done last week. Yeah, you heard it right. Four. I need two more done on the other side. Yes, that is six total. Shut-up. All the cavities were in the crevices of my teeth. I was told long ago when I visited the dentist regularly (there really was such a time) that the crevices of my teeth are very, very deep, and a toothbrush wouldn't do a very good job of getting stuff out of them. Since I'm not a gum chewer, my teeth eventually decayed. It's actually very good that I made it 31 years before needing a filling. Now I need lots. Serves me right for not going to the dentist, I know. I finally found a good one that I trust and that doesn't make me feel like I'm still six. She said my teeth looked really great other than the six cavities. I hardly even had any tartar, so I must be doing something right.

Anyway, I get to go back right after I drop the kids off to school. Hopefully I won't need as many shots of Novocain this time. Of all the things I have to have a tolerance for, why in the world does it have to be painkillers? I thought my face was going to fall right off last week, and I kept biting my tongue. I didn't even know I was biting my tongue until my mouth wouldn't close all the way. It was dead, but that's better than feeling all that horrible drilling. So I just had to endure an inability to feel half my face for a few hours and a sore tongue for a couple days. I have the constant feeling there's something stuck in my teeth where the fillings are, and that's probably going to drive me batty for a few weeks. But it's better than a root canal, right?

I have so much to look forward to, like that McDonald's Chunky Chicken Salad I'm supposed to have for lunch. Actually I am looking forward to it, because I'm that hungry right now. I hope all this exercise and lifestyle changing is going to help me be less pathetic. Sheesh.


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >