Stupid, stupid, stupid
12 October, 2000 - 20:17:17

Why did I say I would be head homeroom mother for Hammy's class? I am such an idiot! I hate calling people for things. No matter that these people volunteered. I still hate calling. I still feel like I'm bugging them. Must be the two weeks of telemarketing I did. Tainted me for life, it did. Now I hate even calling for a pizza or a doctor's appointment.

I had it in my head that I would just volunteer to be one of the minions, but if asked, I would go ahead and be leader. It's Hammy's last year of parties after all. From here on out it's school dances and pep rallies. I could handle it. Parents here help out. It wouldn't be the nightmare I experienced when he was in first grade, and I was doing everything alone. I just had to make a few calls, ask people to bring a few things and all would be well.

Never mind there is some planning involved in this. I can't even plan my days at home. What was I thinking? I had to figure out who volunteered for what party. I have to get people to take on games and craft. No one wants to do games or craft. I never realized how easy I made it on head homeroom parent when I casually said, "Sure, I can do a craft." No one else is crafty. It's torture� for them and me.

I did get someone to take on games, thank God. I hate games more than craft. I don't really hate craft, and thank God for that as well, because I may get stuck thinking of something. I have a couple people brainstorming on a craft idea that won't be too gross for the girls or too cute for the boys or too baby for them all. Please, please, please let one of them come up with something.

As if that's not enough, I have money to manage too. I have $48 to cover expenses for three parties. Me. Money. Receipts. Organization. Nervous breakdown.

I really hope I can pull this off without losing a whole night's sleep the day before the party. I hope I can pull this off two more times after this. Or maybe I'll just get stricken with a horrible disease that makes me have to resign. As long as I don't embarrass Hammy, everything will be fine.


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >