Caught Red-Handed
24 October, 2000 - 20:57:27

Our borough recently got a speed checker trailer thingamajig that tells you how fast you're going as you're coming up to it. They put it in different places throughout the borough that have problems with speeding. I've heard you can even request to have it in your area (allow them to place it on your property), but there's a two month waiting list. Popular toy. I also heard it causes a lot of younger drivers to speed to see how fast they can go. That makes me want to call up the borough building and request it my yard.

All this got me thinking about areas that can clock your speed, take a picture of your license plate if you're speeding, and send you a ticket in the mail. I assume it's the same type of device, only hidden. That scares me. I'm all for going the right speed and getting in trouble when you get caught with a heavy foot. But I don't see an automated camera taking a picture of my license plate as "getting caught." Mind you, I've never had a ticket in my life, but I still think this is wrong. That just feels creepy.

There are a lot of great arguments for using that system. I know if people are breaking the law, they are breaking the law, period. I know there's not enough manpower to keep cops posted all over to write tickets. I know it will help keep speeding at bay and therefore, make our streets safer. That all sounds great. I'm a mother. I would much rather have some idiot hit me at 35mph than 45mph, but I still don't like it. I don't think paranoia teaches people how to behave properly. I think it just makes them sneakier.

I just get sick of the government dipping into every corner of our lives and telling us what's good for us. I'm still pissed about the seat belt law. My life was saved by a seat belt when I had a choice whether or not I wanted to wear it. If you don't want to wear one, that's your life. It's not costing too much extra for the fire department to hose your DNA off the pavement when you get ejected from your car. Same for helmet laws. It's called survival of the fittest. What kind of evolution is taking place when we're protecting the stupid?

I suppose if I were really worried about it, I'd buy one of those license plate covers that supposedly make it impossible to photograph your number. It's not really that I think I'll be receiving a demand for cash because my foot got a little heavy. In an effort to slow down, be patient and not stroke out, I rarely speed anymore. Traffic goes more smoothly when everyone else is passing you. Watch out if I'm on a long trip though. I speed. Like a demon.

If I did get a ticket in my mailbox, you bet I'd be pissed. Pissed at myself. Pissed at the system. It's bad enough that mall security can bust me digging out a wedgie in Misses Sportswear. Why don't we just start mounting cameras on our babies' heads after they are born?


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >