O Christmas Tree
09 December, 2001 - 1:53 p.m.

O Christmas Tree

I went out this morning and bought a fake Christmas tree. I always said I'd never have a fake tree, that I wanted real trees. Well, real the real trees I want always cost a fortune, so we were spending $40-$60 a year on a tree at a time of year when that money could go toward the hundreds of gifts I need to buy for the litters John's and my brother spawned. Real trees also need water. Every day. Since I can forget to feed the animals on some days, there is no way our real tree gets watered like it's supposed. That causes all that fire hazard business and the tree shedding all its needles in one fell swoop, and who needs that? Then there's disposal, and I feel guilty putting the tree on the curb to go to the landfill. I want to take it to one of those recycling places, so it sits in our yard forever and ever until the recycling centers close down, and I have to put it on the curb anyway. It stresses me out. I don't need that.

I was out buying balls one day, and I saw a fake tree that I thought was pretty cute. It was skinny, which is perfect for us, because our living room is so damn tiny that we already have to take furniture out of it just to have a tree. It was also prelit, and anyone that's wrestled with those stupid lights year after year knows what a blessing that is. It didn't look too terribly fake. From a distance, it looks damn good, and with the ten-thousand ornaments on it they had in the store, it looked great. I began coveting that tree and counted how many were left every time I went to the store.

The lobby for the fake tree began, and I asked John every other day when I might be able to get my tree. He told me the same day every time. But I asked anyway, hoping maybe he could pull money out his rear or something. I whined. I warned him they might all be gone by the time I could finally buy one. I showed him the sale ad that had my tree in it. I made excuses to go to the store, so I could visit my tree and make sure there were some left. But John was being all reasonable. I had to wait until today.

Surprisingly, I didn't get up and run right out the door. In fact, I hadn't even thought about my tree until I thought about the newspaper. Then the frantic preparation began as I found the sale ad and saw trees weren't just on sale this week, but they were on clearance. Good God, people were probably waiting at the door when the place opened to buy my tree, and here I was still in my pajamas! Shower? I didn't need no stinking shower! I needed a tree� a skinny tree with lights and even pinecones. I got dressed, brushed my teeth and ran out the door, dragging Hammy with me. He was almost as excited about the tree as I was.

To my relief there were three whole trees left when I got there, and one of them was mine. I got it home and even set it up. Hammy helped spread all the branches out, and it's smack in the middle of the living room/dining room, gleaming in its skinny fake tree glory. I might even rearrange the living room and dig out the ornaments. I have never had a tree up this early. I am even amazing myself.

That's not all. I have had the front porch decorated since last week. My kids always thought we decorated the tree on Christmas Eve as a tradition, but it was really because I put it off. And outdoor decorations? Why do we need those when all the neighbors have such nice ones? I was lucky to get a wreath on the door much less lights and pine garland. Last year, I didn't even manage the wreath on the door. It was a tough decoration year for me.

There's something different about this year. I'm not stressed about buying gifts or getting things done. I've been on time or early getting things ready. I'm even making some gifts. If there wasn't a huge pile of laundry downstairs right now, I'd wonder if I was possessed. Maybe I'm just finally getting my act together a little at a time. And with the kids so happy that we have outdoor lights and decorations and a tree up, I think this is an act I need to keep.


I didn't get rid of anything today either.


Previous|Next
One year ago - Against My Nature
Last year's plan to be on time. (It failed.)

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >