I'm a Cornhusker Fan
08 December, 2001 - 8:38 p.m.

I'm a Cornhusker Fan

Now you know. It's not that I've been hiding the fact. It's practically by birthright. I remember listening to Nebraska games on the radio when I was a kid. It wasn't because my parents paid any attention to games. My mom didn't really care about football, and my dad was from Virginia and also didn't really care about football. Somehow though, I cared about football. And in Nebraska, if you care about football, you usually end up a Husker fan.

I'm not the kind of person that puts red lights up on my house or flies a big red flag with a white N on it. I don't wear red every game day. I only bleed red because we all do. I'm not obsessed, but I do love my team. I even feel bummed out when they lose. I watch the games on TV when they are broadcast in my area, which meant I had to suffer the worst loss in my lifetime. I have no love for Colorado, never have, and that Boomer Sooner song makes me want to wretch. I won't try to convince you to love my team. I liken college football loyalty to abortion debates; people don't change their minds. So don't try to change mine either.

This season was looking good for the Huskers, but I had a bad feeling as soon as they were ranked number one. Nebraska seems to have a bad habit of choking on those little bitty numbers, and this year proved to be no exception. After the Colorado game, I thought it was over for the year. Top ten isn't that bad, after all.

Now a couple weeks have gone by, and that damn Colorado team won the conference, but that proved to be a good thing. That helped Nebraska's cause, and now as I type this with the Tennessee/LSU game on the television, I'm cheering for LSU. That's because Nebraska, despite not even going to their conference title match, could still play for the National title in the Rose Bowl.

I don't know how it happened. Honestly, it seems like a load of shit to me, but you know what? I'll take it. The BCS system certainly seems to have its flaws, but just like a tax loophole, use it if you can. So I say GO TIGERS!

I haven't talked much about my love of sports. I watch baseball on TV and enjoy it. I love hockey. I have even been known to choose to watch golf. Yes, you heard that right. Golf. The only sport I don't enjoy either watching or playing is basketball. I don't know why. It just doesn't hold my interest at all, and I totally suck at it too. It's one of the few sports where I have no ability whatsoever. Maybe that's why I don't like watching it either. I don't know, and I don't care. I'd rather watch timber sports over basketball. Give me any other sport, and I'm happy. ESPN.com is my home page. I've been in a fantasy baseball league. My first time, I placed second because I picked Alex Gonzales over Alex Rodriguez his rookie year. Who knew?

I don't talk about sports much. If it's the topic of conversation, hell yeah, I'll talk, but I usually don't bring it up. I'm a quiet fan, but I'm definitely a fan. John even has me liking the mostly shitty local teams here in Pittsburgh, but I will always be a Husker fan first.

LSU just scored a touchdown. Woo! Did I say GO TIGERS?


This is one of those selective hiatus days for the "Today I got rid of" section.


Previous|Next
One year ago - Woof! Yip!
Meet my dog!

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >