I feel avoidance coming on
07 December, 2001 - 9:28 p.m.

I feel avoidance coming on

My entries seem to be getting later and later. At this rate, I won't be making one tomorrow. But I will. Oh yes� I will. I don't know who it was that said this Holidailies thing was kind of like a journalist's gift to her readers, but that's wrongwrongwrong in my case. No gifts here. Nosiree. This is torture. Consider yourself warned.

Anyway, I went into the office today while John went to a doctor's appointment. I cut a person and some big scanner thingie out of a photo, so I can say I learned to cut on the computer. I'm such a big girl. It wasn't as incredibly boring as it sounds though, because I talked with the father-in-law quite a bit today about coffee and bacon and heat registers in old houses. Quite interesting conversation if you ask me.

So I'm sitting there watching FIL work on a brochure, and John comes to pick me up, but he calls me from his damn cell phone, because he can't park and walk less than a block to come get me. Ass. But I had no idea what an ass I'd think he was until he decides to edge forward (I say "edge," but it was more a lurch) at a red light causing the coffee I was drinking to go all over my face and white shirt. It was at that time I informed him there would be no pinball to pass the time until we met with Hammy's teachers, because I was going home to change. He argues that it's just a skate shop, and I shouldn't worry about big brown stains all over my shirt, but I wasn't hearing it. Like skaters don't notice reckless slobbery.

After a short visit at home where John ignored me for the new pinball machine that doesn't work, we went to our meeting. I was as nervous as if I was the one in trouble at school. Hammy told me his one teacher was tough, and I knew she was a bit of a hard ass when I spoke to her on the phone. Since I haven't brushed up on my student-ly brown-nosing in years, I wasn't feeling too comfortable about this meeting. It went relatively well despite my jitters and that teacher's reputation. Everyone was there to help my kid, and we worked out a plan to get him back on his feet. As expected, the brunt of the responsibility lies with us, the parents. Well, it really lies with Ham in the long run, so hopefully he'll get his shit together and decide this is worth it. If not, I figure there's not much we can do about it.

I still feel a bit crappy in the mom department, but I'm better than I was. I'm doing what I can with what I know. I don't know what else there is. It might not be mom of the year worthy, but it shouldn't condemn my son to a life holding a "Will Work For Food" sign either.

Since we put on such a good show as parents, we decided to resume our slacker image by going to the skater store anyway, so John could try and kick Terminator 2's ass. He failed, but I rocked� got two free games even. The owner and the other employees were cheering for me. Me� the 32 year old housewife. That's right. I was cool for a brief moment. I'm still savoring that. It will probably have to last me a lifetime.

The rest of the day is less than noteworthy, like everything I've already talked about is noteworthy. The only thing left is to actually do the Tae-Bo tape I set out to do today. There just wasn't time for a walk/run with all the important things I was doing. I'll take care of that exercise thing right after the kids are in bed. And don't think I won't, because as I sit here, I can feel my stomach all pooching out, and it's grossing me out something fierce. I don't need that. What I'll use for motivation if the stomach goes away is beyond me. I'll gladly worry about that when the time comes.


Today I got rid of:

Several cans and other recyclables that were building up
Some stupid magnet calendar I will never use


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >