This Will Make Him Call Me
01 September, 2001 - 11:42 a.m.

This Will Make Him Call Me

I called John a little bit ago to see if I could spend some money on a backpack. I was one that might possibly have one of those water bladder thingies in it. I know that sounds gross. Bladder just makes me think of pee, but I'm going to have to change that, because that's what they call those things that hold your drinking water on your back. It would be good for biking and definitely good for my race. I wouldn't have to worry about the stupid screw that broke on the bottle holder on my bike anymore if I had a bladder on my back. Didn't some science lab just grow some kind of animal bladder on the back of a mouse recently? I wonder if that mouse does any biking. Heh.

I thought as soon as I started writing this, he would call me, but no. He was talking to his dad. I'm sure they're talking music, and Lord knows how long that might take. It's one of the few subjects John can talk about forever. I get a little tired of talking music and band shit, so I really wish we could have other conversations, but if I just want to hear him talk, I always bring that up.

Lately, he's found a new obsession--arcade games. He's always wanted a cocktail table version of Wizard of Wor, and he's looked on eBay countless times to find one for a reasonable price. It's the shipping on those suckers that really kills ya. He also wants Moon Cresta. Really, we could fill our whole basement with the arcade games of his youth, and he would be thrilled to no end. He settled for getting a game cabinet, and he's going to put a computer in it that will play multiple games. He wants to make it so you can switch the control panel too. The guy he bought the cabinet from lives only ten minutes away from us and does this kind of stuff all the time, so John has some help in this. He says it's a project for he and Hammy to do together, and Hammy is quite excited about the whole thing. I still believe I'm going to have an empty game cabinet, game parts, and an old computer system sitting in my basement unassembled in a year. That's how these projects usually go.

We are getting a pinball machine� a Black Knight pinball machine to be exact. I am quite excited about this, as I'm a freak about pinball. To have my very own machine in my house will be bliss. It might not bode well for the rest of my family, but I'll be one happy camper. John wants to pick it up this weekend, so I plan on disappearing for at least two days. He has friends lined up who want to come play it, but I told them all they will have to fight me for it. I still think we should get a coin machine and charge them to discourage them from using my machine. Of course, I won't do that, but from all the buzz that's been created when everyone found out we were getting it, we could make a lot of money if we did charge people. We are buying a house after all. We could use a few extra quarters.


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >