Cunthia
2 March, 2001 - 9:56 AM

Cunthia

I got this piece of mail the other day from York photo processing. It was addressed to Cunthia. Now, I've seen a lot of misspellings of my name, and with a last name that's fourteen letters long without hyphenation, it's more the rule than the exception, but Cunthia? I realize U and Y are right next to each other on the keyboard, but damn, what an error! To make it worse, they printed out a whole page of labels for me to use. There's something like fifteen Cunthia's on that page. I may use them just to see how many people notice the error. It's quite hilarious now that I'm over the initial outrage. Still, I will be sending them a correction. I'm writing a short letter just so they are sure to see this most offensive of typos. I'm sure they'll get a hoot out of it. I think I'm starting the letter off with, "This is not the way to get my business."

I did a search to see if cunthia.com is registered as a domain name. I was a little leary, because who knows what might come up with a name like that, but it's not registered. So I can have cunthia.com (or .net or .org) if I like. I think I'll pass. It's funny now, but I can see myself getting tired of it pretty quickly.

I do want to get a domain though, but I'm having the worst time coming up with something. I don't want it to be completely stupid. I don't want to hate it after a week. I also don't want it to be a pain in the ass to type in. I don't want it to be totally generic either. I keep coming back to the idea of taking the first part of Cynthia (not Cunthia) and plugging it into another word, particularly synthesis. What a great name for my journal: Cynthesis. Cynthesis.com is taken. I already looked. She's in marketing. .net and .org are still available though. I don't know. It's not that original, but what is? It's another decision, and I can't make up my mind. Someone is going to have to force me to do it or lavish such praise upon one of my ideas that I give in. I'm weak under complement.

There are so many words that have sin- or cin- in them that I have an endless resource if I want to do that. I even tried cyn alone, but that's long gone. So is Cynthia. You know what came up as alternatives to that? Greekgod, greek-goddess and greek-diety as well as spiritual-being. Oh yeah. Cynthia (or a variation on that) was a moon goddess. I was named so well.

For a while, I thought livingincyn would be a fabulous domain name for a journal site, considering it's all about what's in my head. But the more I thought about it, the more I didn't like it. I'm not living in sin in the traditional sense, though we did for two years. It would be much better if that were the case, so I think I'm over it. Had I went ahead with it I don't think I'd regret it now, but I want something else.

This has come up recently because John wanted to register my domain and get the web site going rather than put my pictures up on his site, then have to move them again. I didn't want to start my new site the same way I started my Diaryland diary. I was too hasty and picked a name I would rather not have and probably would have used a different host if I took the time to look around. I know a lot of people refuse to even look at Diaryland diaries, and that bothered me for a while. Now I say fuck 'em. That's their problem, not mine.

Once I get my site up and running, I don't know if I'll have my Diaryland site point to it, or keep my journal housed there. It is free web space, and I like being able to update from anywhere. That's more research for me to do. I'm going to do this thing right, or at least try to.

That is part of my excuse for taking the day off. No timer today. If I don't want to work, I don't have to. I've been in a foul mood the past few days, and it's still lingering. It's best I don't push myself too much when I'm crabby. I get even more unbearable, and that's not good when I'm responsible for little ones.

I may go out with John's aunt tonight. I could probably use the night out, but I'm feeling more hermit-y than social. What I really want is to rent an isolated cabin for the weekend and not see anyone. It's probably not the best solution when I'm already stewing about things. I won't decide until later, and even then I probably won't decide until his aunt calls me, or he forces me to go. I'm feeling a little stubborn too. All right, I'm just outright impossible. There, I admitted it.

I don't remember the last time I went out to a bar without John. I went once when I was in Nebraska last summer. Before that, who knows? Ever since I gained weight, I don't feel comfortable going out, and I especially don't like dancing. I love dancing, but I don't like dancing where people can see me. I'm letting the weight inhibit me, even though I know in my head I'm not supposed to do that. I'm not used to this though. I've never weighed this much without being pregnant, and if I get too much higher, I'll be at an all-time high, period. That doesn't bode well for my adventure racing goal.

With that, I'm off to have Billy teach me a lesson again. I decided working out every four days will not get me in shape, so I'm going to do it every other day. When I really get going, it's everyday, baby. I'm crazy like that. I think I'll start running again this weekend too. I miss it, and I need it.


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >