I'm an Achy Fireplug, Short & Stout
3 August, 2001 - 5:50 p.m.

I'm an Achy Fireplug, Short & Stout

Since I spent most of the day Wednesday at the Science Center and felt like going straight to bed by the time I came home, I skipped working out. I figured I could do it Thursday, which was supposed to be my rest day. So I did, and I woke up with sore abs, legs, glutes, arms, and well, all the rest of me. Even my neck was sore. So what did I do today? I worked out again as scheduled. Only problem was the rain that finally decided to show up today, which we need desperately but ruined my plan to run. So I did Tae-Bo again for the second day in a row. I might be bedridden after tonight when I go see John's band play.

I don't plan to drink tonight, but whenever I say that, I give in to just one beer, and then another, and then another, until I've had four or five. Now when you drink as often as I do (read once a month), those four or five beers have a big impact, and what will already be an achy morning will become close to agony. That's not good, because I have to get up and run before our annual neighborhood block party starts. Our street gets blocked off, and I have no way out, plus I want to be at the party. It's a lot of fun.

We have a cool neighborhood, but it's also a drinking neighborhood; not out of control, but the neighbors get together for beers every once in a while. In fact, our next-door neighbors who are a little older than my parents told all us thirty-something mothers that we were tame and mild compared to herself and the other neighbors of her age. And here we always hear about those perfect '50s housewives. They were getting together every day, playing cards and drinking wine! No wonder they were always so pleasant.

I hope to get rid of the whole shelf full of beer in my fridge tomorrow. We hardly ever drink unless we have people over, so I'm really tired of having a whole shelf of my already-too-small fridge taken up by beer. I certainly don't need to be drinking it anyway. I'm being a good girl and training every day I'm supposed to do it, and alcohol doesn't make for a good training session. That's also why I really need to avoid more than one drink tonight.

I'd like to avoid it altogether, but again, I don't see that happening. This is one of the places where everyone buys me drinks for some reason. I figured if I get one and nurse it the whole time, no one would be tempted to keep me stocked. So that's the plan. I really want to have a good run tomorrow.

I feel like I'm getting better in my training, except for that biking thing. I still need to work on that more, but otherwise I'm doing quite well. I would expect to see better results than I have seen. In fact, I'm really disappointed in the few changes I have seen. I don't seem to be getting any smaller at all, but I do seem "stronger" as John said. I translate that to mean I'm looking stockier. That's what I think, and who wants that? I'm not giving up, because I have to be in shape for the race, but I've never had a training routine affect me like this. I hope it all evens out eventually, because I'm not liking this fireplug look I'm getting.

Anyway, I have to dry my hair and figure out what I'm wearing tonight. I really feel like taking a nap, but there's no time for that now.


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >