Exercising My Skills
4 November, 2000 - 11:53 AM

I am way too good at avoiding responsibility, procrastinating and sitting on my ass. It's not fair for one person to have so much skill. I tell you. I'm dripping with it.

I have this huge list of things I should be doing it. Take laundry for instance. There are about seven loads of laundry in the laundry room along with another two in the bedrooms. L is completely out of underwear. j has no pants. If J went to work today, neither does he. The only pants that fit me? Dirty. I carved pumpkins in one pair and planted hydrangeas in the other. This seems like a good day to just stay home. Then I wouldn't have to get dressed. J could take the dog out all day. It would be a plan. Except�

We have to go to the store and get J's dad a birthday present to take to his party tonight. It would be good if we got something for his grandfather too who is also celebrating his birthday at said party. Problem: we are butt poor. I'm sure we'll figure something out, probably involving a credit card, which we've been really trying to avoid. The truth is, if we have to pay with a credit card, we shouldn't be getting anything. We're still living the lie.

I have to make some dip for this party too. I said I would. The same person who said she wouldn't make any more commitments committed to make dip. Oh, the irony.

I'm not exactly looking forward to this party. It's not that I don't like my in-laws. I do. I'm just not in a social mood today. I'm sure I will be happy once I get there, if I live through the dread of going. I really need to avoid eating my weight in the kids' Halloween candy. I tend to do that when I'm not looking forward to something, or when I'm bored because I'm avoiding something, or when I'm sad, or when I'm happy, or when I'm breathing. Yeah� well.

Anyway, I better get out of my pajamas. It's almost noon, and I have things to do. I can't avoid them any longer.


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >