On the Road
5 July, 2001 - 9:51 p.m.

On the Road

We�ve traveled many miles in the past few days. We experienced volatile Midwestern weather for the first time in ages. We saw the new Archway in Kearney, Nebraska. Hammy got to do fireworks that he couldn�t have done at home. And right now, Booie saw the Rocky Mountains for the first time. It�s been a good trip so far, except for my lack of exercise thus far. We�ve been so busy driving and running around that there wasn�t time for me to fit it in, unless I was truly dedicated and gave up much-needed sleep to go out early in the morning.

Today we drove to Colorado, and I�m actually writing this as we make our way to my parents� apartment out here. We still have about two hours to go. I don�t have that much to say, but I�ll try to fill some of the time here.

Monday we didn�t get left until after 4:30 PM, much later than I wanted. Partly because of our slow dryer, but mostly because of my poor preparation, we were two hours later than I planned in leaving. It did give us time to see John before we left, since he took off work early to visit us one last time. I was very glad to see him, more glad than I would have thought. It was hard to leave him, but leave we did and managed to get all the way past Indianapolis and almost to the Illinois border.

Surprisingly, we got up early the next morning, ate our �deluxe Continental breakfast� and got on the road at eight local time. Even though we left early, that second half of our trek to Nebraska was more grueling and tiresome. The kids slept more. I felt like sleeping too but couldn�t exactly do that while driving. We did make the trip in nine hours, and I proceeded to lie on the couch nearly until I crashed for the night.

Yesterday, we got up early again and went to breakfast with Kay and family. After that we went home long enough to pack to go to Grandma�s house for Independence Day BBQ and festivities. It turned out to be a very late night, especially for us Eastern Time zone folks. That, and a middle of the night bed-wetting by Booie, led to my temptation and subsequent submission to sleeping later than planned this morning.

We still got left before 10 AM, but if we would have left later, we might not be going through some pretty nasty weather right now. I guess the forces that be want to make sure we know what we�re missing in crazy weather. If this keeps up, we�ll have severe weather warnings every other day, and I�ll be limited to Tae-bo as exercise the whole time. But I�ll do it if I have to.


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >