Dryer Constraints
2 July, 2001 - 10:37 a.m.

Dryer Constraints

I am still doing laundry, because, like I said, I hadn't done any for a week and a half and thought the day before I leave would be a good time to start. I did laundry all day yesterday, and I still have a couple loads of it left to do today. I can't finish packing until it's done. Sure, I could have left John's laundry to do himself and saved myself these last couple loads to do, but that would hve been rude, considering the laundry should have been done last Monday and Tuesday. I had a fleeting notion to load everything in the truck and go to the Laundromat yesterday while John and the kids went to visit his mom, but I'm lazy. Getting organized enough to go to the Laundromat was not something I wanted to do, so now I'm waiting.

Laundry wouldn't take so darn long if we had a decent dryer. Our dryer takes about 70 minutes to dry one load of clothes on medium heat. I don't like to use high heat, because it wreaks havoc on my clothes, and it doesn't dry that much faster on high. I might shave ten minutes off the drying time while having to wear shorts that I could no longer button and pants that look like capris but aren't. When doing ten loads of laundry, that does add up to a whole hour, but I'd rather leave an hour later and be able to breathe and have circulation to my legs.

All this packing and laundry have the dog in a tizzy. Last time we did this, she went to the kennel. I thought about taking her, but a 1000-mile trip with a dog didn't seem like a whole lot of fun. If John were going, I probably would take her, but it's just too hard alone. The kids are enough to deal with on my own. I'll miss Kaya, but it's best she stay here. She will be with her favorite person, at least when he's home. Poor thing will be lonely during the day.

Speaking of lonely, this trip is one of the hardest on me. I really don't want to leave John, and I already miss him, though he only left at eight. Hammy cried after John left. We're all missing him. We will have a good time while we're away, but it would have been better with him.

I know he'll miss us too, but I also know he's looking forward to spending time alone. He gets to live the bachelor life for two weeks, and what guy wouldn't like that? The only problem is his family always seems to think he needs things to do, so they call and visit and plan get-togethers. He never gets as much time to himself as he likes and often ends up busier than when we're here. Hopefully he will learn to say no and enjoy a little quiet time to himself, but I hope he misses us more than he likes being alone. I think he will, but I probably should have left more of his laundry to do, so he missed me more. Hee-hee.


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >