Two Days
05 October, 2001 - 10:05 a.m.

Two Days

At this time in two days, I'm going to be cold, probably wet, miserable, exhausted and not even close to done with my adventure race. I'm so nervous I feel sick to my stomach all the time. I question why I ever thought I'd like to do this. If that's not enough, my period is looming, waiting to start the very day of my race. I'm sure of it. The weather is looking to be the worst of the week, with predicted temps not getting out of the 40s and a low of 34 overnight. It seems like everything that could be wrong will be wrong.

Then there are times like last night. I was lying in bed, unable to sleep after sleeping all afternoon yesterday due to PMS fatigue. Of course, I was thinking about my race, because that's all I've been doing for the past couple weeks. I was trying to tell myself I wasn't going to suck and that I could finish in less than eight hours. I was trying to do the math in my head: run 6 miles-two hours (it's hilly, remember), bike 12 miles-three hours, kayak 2 miles-one hour. That puts me right at six hours, which isn't too bad in my book. Those times don't account for the special tests, but I figure I'm allowing myself more than ample time for the events listed. It's not the four to five hours in which my experienced teammate has finished, but it's not awful. It gives me hope.

I think my only real goal is to finish. That might sound silly to someone who does "real" adventure races, but this is my first time. I'm not in great shape either. I'm way heavier than most of the people that will be doing this. I'm probably heavier than both my teammates. Our team won't be carrying the girl during the special events. It's going to be a tough race for me. Considering all the factors, I think finishing is a healthy goal.

I'm going to get a short, easy run in today. I haven't done anything this week, because I've been suffering severe fatigue and fighting off a headcold. I didn't want to work out and make anything worse. Today is the first day I'm feeling better. The good thing is I was supposed to take it easy this week anyway. I just hope it wasn't too easy. I think I'll feel better once I do run.

If anyone nearby wants to witness the misery, the race is in Moraine State Park, PA and starts at 8 AM. There are special events for spectators to try as well as a kiddie adventure race for those ten and under. Booie is quite thrilled to do that one. Poor Hammy is too old. I would recommend you wish me well from your warm, dry sofa though. It's looking to be the coldest day of the season so far.


Taking a short hiatus from getting rid of junk. I know... I said I wouldn't do that, but my stomach is telling me I should, or it will rebel from holding food.


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >