A Preview
06 October, 2001 - 10:33 p.m.

A Preview

I had registration for the race today, and I was so nervous, I thought I was going to be sick. I'm hoping that's the worst of it. I know I'll be nervous again tomorrow, but just going and knowing the other first-timer teammate is as nervous as I am helped. The experienced teammate seemed to have plenty of confidence in us as well. Maybe he was just doing it to motivate us, but it worked if he did.

I saw part of the running course, a very tiny part of the biking course, the kayaking course, and a few of the special tests. I was thrilled to find out the kayaking is only 1.2 miles and the running is divided into two 3-mile sections. There are 12 whole miles of mountain biking though. I already knew there would be a military wall as one special test, and I saw that formidable thing. There was another area with several 12-foot logs standing on end, and I have no idea what we'll have to do there. There was one area with a cargo net suspended about 10 feet up in the air that I'm sure we'll have to climb across, possibly with bikes or canoes or who-knows-what. The last one I saw was covered with a camouflage, but it looked to be more 12-foot logs with another log going across the top to form a bridge of sorts. I don't have a clue what that will be either. I'll get to experience all those devices of torture in less than ten hours.

My family is coming out to witness the misery. Even my in-laws are making the trip. That means there will be lots of pictures to memorialize the occasion. I don't know if that's a good or bad thing.

I made a trip to the store on the way home to pick up a waterproof jacket and gloves, a hat and a large supply of bars, gels and drinks. I'm probably way overstocked, and I'll regret lugging all that crap into the transition area at 6:30 in the morning, but I'd rather that than bonk.

Well, the last piece of clothing is in the dryer now. I have everything lined up to be packed. Now I just have to wait for John to get back, so I can load the truck up. He's at a bachelor party tonight. I hope he won't be too late, but I can get up ten minutes earlier if I have to and load up then.

So this is it. I hope I finish. I appreciate all the messages of support, and I'll respond individually in a couple days or so. It all depends on how soon I feel good again. I'm off to drink some more water, take an Advil and get to bed.


Decluttering list will return after race recovery


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >