Damn Monkeys
6 March, 2001 - 11:07 AM

Damn Monkeys

I am really getting pissed off about my plans getting so many monkey wrenches thrown into them. This week, I thought I would be able to really get my plan in gear for computer usage and getting things done. So far, both days this week, the kids have had a school delay. I've talked about the school delay before. I love sleeping in, but it really screws up my day. I don't have enough time to work out and shower before picking Booie up again. Since I don't want to pick her up smelling like gym locker, I'm going to have to wait. Today, that means waiting until after 2:30, because Booie is also going back to dance school today. Usually I would have time between regular school and dance school, but since school is getting out later today because of the delay, dance school is only an hour later. Dance school doesn't get delayed.

It's not like we got a ton of snow either. It was worse last night when I went to the store, and there was only a thin layer of snow on the streets. I don't understand how people can think a wee bit of snow is not going to complicate driving at all. It's like this people... you know when you shovel the snow off your walk, and there's that microscopic layer left, so when you walk down your newly cleared walk to put your snow shovel away, you fall and break you ass? It's no different on the street, except you're not just going to break your own ass but everyone else's you barrel into when you're flying down the road at 60 miles an hour. Oh, and here's a newsflash� riding my ass in bad weather is going to make me go slower to compensate for your idiocy. Get the fuck off. I might have four-wheel drive, but that doesn't mean my brakes work any better than they did in my 1979 Datsun that got through snow nearly as well. Four-wheel drive does not equal invincible. Understand that? Now go buy a nice sedan, so you stop acting like Superman on wheels.

And don't tell me I don't know how to drive. I've been driving since I was twelve (there are advantages to grandparents on a farm), and I am without one ticket or one accident. I drove a Camaro through an ice storm and didn't go into the makeshift parking lot known as the median where everyone else on the interstate ended up. A Camaro. That's a synonym for sled if you didn't know. I'm pretty good at this driving business. I will toot my own horn, but you won't find me honking like a fiend when traffic backs up, because I understand the ten cars in front of me are not just sitting there to piss me off.

I just love driving. I especially love driving in this surprise extended winter of ours.


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >