Where does the time go?
8 May, 2001 - 5:32 p.m.

Where does the time go?

Today I planned to mow the lawn in a chore exchange with John. It's pouring now. This morning, it rained just enough to make the grass too wet to mow. The only time it was dry? When I had to pick Booie up from school, feed her lunch and take her to dance school. We really needed rain, but this is some horrible timing. John busted his ass last night loading the dishwasher, washing dishes and even staying up late to make sure the dishwasher didn't spill its contents on our floor for the fifth time because the moron we bought the portable dishwasher from decided to cut the drain hose off rather than unhook it from his sink, causing us to have to replace it with an inadequate replacement hose that barely makes it into the sink to drain. (Did I ever tell you I once won a contest for longest sentence?) So anyway, I feel like I owe him this lawn mowing today, but I'm not able without risking my life. I'm clumsy as it is. I don't need to be handling a machine capable of maiming me for life when it's wet. All that to say I feel guilty because I didn't get up at the crack of dawn or was able to predict the weather to make sure the lawn got cut today.

I spent way too much time on the phone this afternoon. I talked to Kay over an hour. I'm not really sure how long it was, but it was a long time. We were discussing therapy and marital issues and stuff like that. I ignored two calls during that time. It was like our own little long distance therapy session all in itself, and it even costs less than a doctor. If only our husbands could understand us as well as we understand each other.

I also talked to John's cousin who is missing her first vacation with the family since we started going. She asked that I buy her a lighthouse calendar while we're there. She also expressed concern over the room arrangements. See? I said it was an issue. It's even an issue to those not going. She reiterated what John said. Don't let it get to me. Easy coming from her. She'd be in knots over it if she were going.

I would be on my way to taking Hammy to soccer practice now, but the rain is good for one thing: cancellation of soccer practice. I don't think it will get John out of his individual counseling today so we can go shopping instead, but at least I don't have to be running back and forth as much. Gosh, I'd really like to go shopping.

I desperately need some shorts. I have two pairs of shorts that fit me relatively well. That isn't going to cut it for vacation.

I'm trying not to make the mistake we make every year and spending a boatload of money just to go on vacation in the first place, but I really need shorts. It can't be avoided. I'm determined though to make this a less expensive vacation. We always say that and never do it. I'm doing it this year, dammit. Hold me responsible.


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >