TGI...
9 March, 2001 - 10:37 AM

TGI�

�Fucking hate that saying. But I am awfully glad it's Friday. I'm in such a good mood that I feel bad for swearing right off the bat. It could be the yoga I finally got back to doing that has me feeling so good. I won't question it though.

I fed my cats dog food this morning because John waited to mention we ran out of cat food until we were lying in bed last night. They've been busted stealing dog food out of the dog's bowl before, so it's not torture for them, but I don't think it can be good for them either. That means I cannot put off going to the store any longer.

I must go grocery shopping, and I've gotten by the past four days without doing it. I really hate grocery shopping. I don't know why. Once I'm there and doing it, it's not so bad, but it's certainly not fun either. Since it's month end for us pay-wise (John only gets paid once a month), I am going to have to pay strict attention to how much I spend. That always makes an already tedious job even worse. But we're out of milk. I have no cream for my coffee. The cats need food (though I'll have to run to another store for that, so I don't pay the ridiculous grocery store prices on it). The kids are out of cereal (stop your snickering!). I had to make them waffles for breakfast this morning, and we're now out of those too.

A lack of food in the house does make me creative though. So the kids wouldn't complain about having no choice in what to eat for breakfast, I cut their waffles up into sticks and gave them a custard cup of syrup to dip them in. Nothing like making food fun to take kids' minds off griping. There was nothing to help their aversion to asparagus last night though. I'm the only one that likes that.

I have to dye my roots today. (Don't ask how I got from asparagus to my hair. I don't know.) My hair is looking pretty bad. That's another job I hate doing, but it is a necessity in order to spare us all the ugliness. I never like my hair for the first week or so after I touch up the color. It always seems too garish. I'm going out tomorrow night though, so I feel the need to take care of this task.

This will be the first time John and I have gone out since Booie got sick. She's doing so well now and not even using the wheelchair at all anymore. I think she's ready for a sitter. This sitter is a family member too, so there's a little less stress. It's a lot like going out for the first time after having a baby though.

We aren't going out as a couple. It's a band gig. It's the last night (technically; I know they are making an appearance at a later date, but no one knows about that, ahem) their drummer and singer will be with them, so it's a pretty big thing. The drummer is John's brother, so it's an even bigger deal family-wise. I haven't been to see the band much at all anyway, but it has been a very long time. I'm looking forward to it actually. I get video and camera duty, which I don't mind so much, because I really don't want to be out dancing in front of them right now. I can handle dancing in front of mostly strangers, but the band� no, Especially when one of the members is supposed to be doing that adventure race with me. He'll take one look at me and say, "forget it." I don't need to draw any extra attention to myself. I will be meeting the two new members of the band that night too, so no need to set mind-searing impressions.

I'll be taking pictures mostly to capture the new members and to get the band in its new incarnation. They need to update their website. I like dancing, but I'm so excited about playing photographer for the night. I get to play with my new toy, the digital video camera, too. Then I get to bring it all home and play with it on the computer.

I've been playing with graphics a lot lately, as can be seen on my page. It's all trial and error for me. I just mess around with it for a while until I learn enough to actually do things. I have so much fun doing that stuff. John says we should go into business doing that kind of thing, but he says that about anything I take even a slight interest in.

He wants to start his own business so badly, and he wants me to be a part of it, but I don't want my own business. It's a lot of work. I learned enough about it when we ran the BBS years ago and again when I did the Longaberger thing. I like doing what I like to do, but I hate all the paperwork and just plain work involved in owning a business. Tax time is a nightmare. And I don't know how he thinks we could manage a business when we can't even manage our own house. He tells me he would shelter me from the paperwork and filing and managing, but I don't believe that at all. He would do it for a little while, until he got overwhelmed, then I would have to "help him out." Once I did that, I'd be doing more and more until I hated the business with a fiery venom at which point I would quit like the disgruntled worker I was, and John would hate me, and we'd get divorced and have to move, and the kids would hate me, and I'd have to go get a paying job, and I would hate me. Not a tempting scenario. It's not like I know much about this web design stuff anyway. Sheesh.

I'm going to work out again today, even though I'm tired. Maybe it will perk me up. That, or I'll be so exhausted I can take a nap. As long as I get the grocery shopping done.


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >