Where Did the Weekend Go?
09 April, 2002 - 1:19 p.m.

Where Did the Weekend Go?

This was one of those way-too-busy weekends where you feel like one week just meshed right into the next without a break in between. My weekend was busier than my week. That wasn't exactly hard to do, because I was kind of a bum last week and didn't get a whole lot done, but it was a busy weekend nonetheless, and it even ran right into Monday.

We went to the baseball home opener yesterday. We let the kids skip school again this year. I felt a little guilty about it, since this wasn't the opening of the ballpark like it was last year. It wasn't a big event, just baseball. We did have a friend who helped hold the big flag for the opening ceremony with other emergency personnel around the city, but I don't know that that qualified as a good reason to skip school either. I think kids should be allowed to take a personal day or two during the school year, and this was theirs. They are both doing well enough in school now that they could miss a day. The only real problem is my six-year-old daughter isn't a good liar, so we can't say she was sick. She will be talking about the game to everyone, so I just had to write her a note saying she went to the game to see our friend. Hopefully that will be enough for an excused absence. If not, I suppose I should get dressed appropriately should the truant officer come knocking on my door.

For the older child, he got a sick note, which he promptly forgot as he went out the door. Good thing he doesn't need to the note to be allowed back to school. I keep wondering if the different schools will compare notes and see that each child had different reasons for being absent on the same day. I feel like I'm the one that skipped school and in danger of getting into trouble.

Maybe being a bad parent is the reason my headache came back with a vengeance this morning. I almost passed out while brushing Booie's hair for school. I don't know what that was about, but I'm going to attribute it to the headache, because I will find any reason whatsoever not to go to the doctor. That is also why I didn't tell John about it either. I've been fine but for the headache since then, and I have had problems with my old dizziness problem the past week or so. I've already been to the doctor for that, and I was given pills and told there was nothing to be done about it. No use in returning for the same old thing, right? All of this does not make me want to do all the work I need done though.

Laundry finally fell behind after weeks of being done in a timely manner. Dishes are beginning to pile up. The dining room table is slowly disappearing again. The living room floor is doing its own vanishing act too since the dumb dog is going into a hyper-shed phase. Almost all dogs shed, but anyone who has a dog with an undercoat, like a husky, understands the massive spring and fall shed that is beginning for me right now. I think this dog of mine only doesn't shed two days of the year. Otherwise, she sheds all the time and sheds twice her weight in fur for a few weeks in the spring and again in the fall. She gets a summer coat and a winter coat, which is quite convenient for her, but it makes my house a mess.

It's probably about time I put my stuffed snowman away too. He's still sitting on the entertainment center. As much as I dislike winter, I really like snowmen. I would like winter a whole lot more if it weren't cold. Unfortunately, cold is a necessity for snowmen. I think the cold is finally done here after making a return visit for a while last week, so I guess it's time to say goodbye to the snow guy too. I can't believe I left the thing out until April. Maybe that's why we got flurries last week.

I am having the worst time ending entries. I finish what I have to say, and it's just too abrupt. I would have stopped at that last paragraph, but it just seems like something is missing. I would get severely downgraded in English class for a report like that. Hammy must be rubbing off on me. He ends his reports that way a lot. Whenever I tell him it's too abrupt, he says, "What?" Last time, I didn't make him correct it, because he didn't feel there was anything wrong with it. Then he brought it home, and the teacher wrote a comment about the ending and took off points. The kid still got an A though. This is Social Studies too, the same class in which he was having such trouble a couple months ago. This time he was absent when he was supposed to turn his report in, so he got extra time. Meanwhile the teacher had to turn in the nine-week progress report and just wrote in an A for that report, expecting that to be his grade. How's that for a turn around? This is the same teacher that supposedly "just didn't like [him]." I withhold the urge to tell him I told him so.

1:16 PM

Four hours later, and I still haven't done anything except take a shower. I haven't even finished off this stupid journal entry, because I can't come up with a good way to end it. Why I feel the need to have some kind of "ending," I don't know. I guess it doesn't feel complete to me. Complete or not though, I have to get some work done around here, so I suppose abrupt or not, this is the end of an incredibly dumb entry.


Decluttering:

I don't even have anything witty to say about not throwing stuff out. I just didn't.


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >