Quiet
11 July, 2001 - 5:04 p.m.

Quiet

I�m enjoying a rare bit of silence if I ignore the sound of the pipes knocking while the washer fills with water. The car ride back here to Nebraska was non-stop chatter and noise, mostly due to my jabber jaw son. It wasn�t much different today when we met with Kay who was very anxious to see us again. We went to lunch with her and then to Fontenelle Forest. It is so wonderful to just sit and not be inundated with noise. I like being social, but I need this down time too.

I really need to work in some strength training and a bike ride today. I haven�t done it yet, and I�m going to end up regretting lying in bed this morning instead of getting up right away. I should have gotten up and went right then, but I was tired. The bed felt wonderful compared to the pullout sofa at my parents� apartment, and I just lay there and soaked it in. My back doesn�t hurt today like it has for the past three. I do feel pretty good today as a result of being a little lazy, so maybe it wasn�t such a bad idea for me to relax extra long. I won�t skip my training today. I just have to figure out how I�m going to go.

My mom and sister are gone right now, so there is no one to watch the kids for me while I ride. I could go ahead and do the strength training, but I really want to do everything at once, so I can get the sweating over with and take one shower. We�re supposed to go out again this evening with Kay, so I really need to try and get the workout done before she is ready. I may have to switch days again and do a Tae-bo workout today and leave the biking for Friday. I�ll figure something out.

I don�t expect my mom and sister to be back until after my sister gets her senior pictures taken. It�s hard to believe she�s old enough to be a senior in high school. I talked about colleges and majors with her yesterday while she drove me to the post office. I can�t help but think of her as the five-year-old I took along to the store with me and had people ask if she was my child. She�s seventeen now. She will be graduating and going to college. Soon enough I�ll be saying this about my own children.

It�s time to switch laundry again. No matter where I go, that chore haunts me. That would be a big advantage to being a nudist. Since I have no plans for that, I better get to it. Then I think I�ll get that workout out of the way.


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >