Delayed Recovery
13 May, 2003 - 8:42 a.m.

I'm waiting for my coffee to brew, so what better time to write an entry? You know I'm having a hard time when I have to look for things like that. But at least it's a new entry in less than a week... or ten days... or two weeks.

Work has picked up the pace again after a very slow time when the orthopaedic surgeon was on vacation. I was regularly getting out of there by 5:30 PM, and that was pretty nice. I even had my employee status changed, so I was only required to have 20 hours a week instead of the previous 24. I just wasn't able to get enough hours with all the leaving early we were doing. The last two weeks, I could have reached 24 hours and then some. I was at work until 7:30 PM last Monday and until about 7:15 PM yesterday. I'm really supposed to be out of there by 6:30 PM. It just hasn't been happening. I'm back to the old days of coming home and collapsing on the couch.

I didn't run yesterday. Or walk. I thought I might, but with the temperature dropping down to 49 by the time I left work and rain coming down every so often and getting out of work 45 minutes late, I decided to wait until Wednesday when it's supposed to be a touch warmer, and the rain should quit. We'll see. I think our weather people have been using the Magic 8 Ball to determine their forecasts. Or maybe not. The Magic 8 Ball would probably be right more often.

Our furnace started up again sometime last night. I never actually turned it off when it got warmer. It just never came on anymore. It's running as I type. I know this isn't the first time our furnace has run in May, but I still hate it.

I'm supposed to run today for twenty minutes. That's what my fitness plan tells me. You know I don't want to go out in the damp cold. It's been raining off and on this morning too, and I don't know if it's going to let up or not. Or get warmer. I'm so very tired as it is that getting myself to go out in the chilly rainy day is a workout in itself.

I'm tired not only because I worked my ass to the bone yesterday but because I didn't get enough sleep over the weekend. I never get enough sleep when I have to get up for work, so it just snowballed with the lack of sleep from the weekend to send me to buy regular caffeinated coffee yesterday morning! I haven't had that in ages, and I give it full credit for keeping my eyelids at a minimum of half mast until noon.

The real reason for the extreme tiredness though was a busybusy Mother's Day. I didn't get to sleep until after midnight Saturday, and then I got up to go run the Race for the Cure. I felt fine for that and ran well. I didn't leave my friend behind when she had to walk, so we had a time of about forty minutes. We ran most of the time though. I think I would have had a time around 36 minutes, even with the hills and walkers getting in the way, if I ran the whole time. I felt great for the race and was surprised at how much easier it was than the 5K I ran in September. Next race will probably be another 5K in July.

After the race, we went home, so I could change out of my wet, smelly clothes. There was about five minutes of downpour at the beginning of the race, so we got soaked. Then I sweat buckets while running because it was so humid and pretty warm, and because I am an animal. I promised the family I wouldn't take long changing, so I didn't get a shower, but everyone said I smelled fine. I didn't seem to repel people when we went out, so they probably told me the truth.

We ate at Denny's. I don't want to hear it. Denny's wasn't packed to the gills with people taking their moms out to eat, and we all can find something we like to eat there. They even have Gardenburgers, though that wasn't what I ordered. I had pancakes with strawberry topping, hash browns, and eggs. I love breakfast food. I do miss bacon sometimes, but I don't think I could really bear to put a piece of it in my mouth anymore. I can't get past the thought of chewing on meat, no matter how good it might smell. I guess I've reached true vegetarian status.

After our lovely (and quick) meal, we picked up John's mom to take her with us to visit the grandmas. She's settled into her own place now and doing very well, but she still doesn't, and never will, drive. The bus doesn't run through our borough on weekends, so it's harder for her to get around to anywhere other than the mall. We had nice visits, stopped by the grocery store and finally got home around 7 PM.

I was pooped, but did I go to bed right then? No, I did not. I stayed up and watched TV and ate a gelati. It was a big food day for me but not a big sleep day. I told John I need a day off to recover from Mother's Day. I certainly didn't get it yesterday! I think I might do a bit of lying around today though. Except for when I run.

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:
The Best Gifts (from two years ago)

|

< previous | next >