Dear Diary
14 May, 2001 - 4:44 p.m.

Dear Diary

All my life will probably be this week is "What I did today." I'm insane before a vacation, and all I can think about are the different lists and what I have to do. It's a busy week, full of more things than I care to handle, but handle it I must.

It seems like there's always more regular things to do the week I'm trying to get ready for something. This week, L had a neurology appointment; we have tickets to a ball game; I have a hair cut scheduled; there is tons of piddly shopping to do; J has a music copyright seminar; J and I have our counseling appointment: and L has two dance school days and a field trip. These are all things we would do whether we were going on vacation or not. It's one of the busiest weeks of the month, and that doesn't even include packing and laundry. j is skipping soccer practice this week even, and it's still that busy. How does that happen?

Today began the gauntlet with L's neurology appointment. I had one of the most rotten night's sleep in a long time, so I was hoping I'd get a little extra shuteye this morning since L wasn't going to school. No such luck. L got up even earlier than usual. This is the same girl that's been whining to me every day for over a month that she wants to stay home and sleep rather than go to school. I was cursed from the minute I tried to lay down last night without feeling tired, through J's unabated snoring, which eventually drove me to the couch, and L's middle of the night wake-ups to a morning without even a couple minutes of sleeping in.

I should have known all that would mean we'd have to wait two hours past L's appointment time to finally see the doctor this morning, which really wasn't morning at all. But it was worth it to see the happy doctors over L's complete recovery. We now begin weaning her off the medication she's been taking to control the pain. Only six more weeks of that and no more visits to the land of extended waiting times.

I came home tired and out of sorts, not at all the way I need to be to get my task list complete. I've only made a couple phone calls. So now the easy stuff is done, and I have to actually do some things. That means no journal reading for me today. Phooey!


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >