A Quick Update from the Cornhusker State
15 July, 2002 - 11:07 a.m.

A Quick Update from the Cornhusker State

So I'm currently in the Nebraska, getting pulled in a million directions, just like I said I would. I feel mildly guilty at all times and majorly guilty some of the time. It's not what I would call a vacation. It's nice to see family and friends, but I think this will cure that feeling of homesicknes I've been having.

The days have been busy and tiring. It's especially tiring the past two days when we've spent time with my brother and his family of six kids. In fact, on Saturday they were watching four more kids, so there were ten kids along with my own two. It's not that any of them are terrible brats, but that many kids in a not-so-controlled environment can put anyone's hair on end. I don't know how they were managing all of that, but they didn't seem to have a problem with it. What's a few more when you already have six, I guess.

The trip to and from Chicago was great, but I stressed a lot there too, because my dog went to her babysitter's house, got nervous from the other two dogs sniffing the hell out of her, and peed on the carpet not ten minutes after we arrived. I was told she was good the rest of the night, and I didn't see any more cleaned up spots on the carpet, so she must have done OK. The poor dog has been quite stressed too from all the moving around and unfamiliarity, but she's also doing extremely well and making everyone fall completely in love with her. She's just that kind of dog. She hasn't even had a problem with my sister's cats, so she's been allowed to stay here at my mom's house with me. That's a good thing, considering she was going to stay at Kay's house, and Kay's dog did not like Kaya very much when we visited earlier. It wasn't a constant dogfight, but there was enough growling and teeth-baring that Kaya stuck very close to me most of the time.

Speaking of Kay's, we're spending the night there tonight. I was kind of hoping to just stay here the whole time, but Kay is skipping out on a meeting tonight, so we can come over. I don't mind staying at her house at all. I just don't like have to pack up stuff for one night's stay, especially when I have to leave on Wednesday. I'm sure I'll have a good time though. I do feel guilty about not being at my parents' for one of my final nights.

My dad was able to get off work and come out here for this week, so I got to see him all weekend and more. That's another reason I would really like to stay here. I've seen Kay more than I've seen my dad, and that doesn't feel right to me at all. That's why I'm making the overnight trip to Kay's a minimal visit. She'll have to come to me if she wants more time.

I still have to make another visit with my Grandma too. I figure I'll have to go down there tomorrow, so I get some more time in with her. I saw here Saturday and yesterday, but neither days were for long. She made it clear she wants to see me again before I go, and I can't blame her for that. I'd like to see her some more too. I just have to be firm when it's time for me to leave and get ready to go.

And now, I have to take a shower, so I feel human again. The kids are still in bed, even though it's really late for them to be sleeping. My sister is still sleeping too. My parents went to pick up my cousin at the airport, so it's very quiet here right now--the polar opposite of what it was here yesterday. I have to take advantage of the peace while I can. The guilt machine is revving up for another round later today.


Previous|Next

One year ago
Nearing the End - Because history repeats itself, I was finishing up my trip to Nebraska this time last year too.

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >