At least I'm doing something
15 September, 2001 - 11:44 p.m.

At least I'm doing something

I just spent way too long putting up pictures for John's stupid band. I really don't know if it's worth it. Who knows if they will even look at them. I felt like doing something that wouldn't require a whole lot of thought or effort. That definitely qualifies.

The band is playing a somewhat distant gig tonight. John will be spending the night in a camper and come home in the morning. The location is about two hours from here, and he didn't like the idea of driving after he's done playing at 2 AM. All the guys stay and have a sort of "band camp." I get a kick out of the idea, because they aren't a bunch of spring chickens. It's not like a band of twenty-somethings that would make a big party out of it. They just hang out and eat breakfast cooked by the keyboard player in the morning. It reminds me of the guys on that commercial that chase the bears, ending with the comment, "You just can't mess with a man's salad." Hee.

I spent part of the time while John was away digging through two boxes of stuff that have been sitting in my bedroom for months. They were boxes full of last-minute cleaning. You know the kind of cleaning you do right before company comes over, and you aren't quite ready yet, so you grab bags or boxes or whatever and load them with all the crap you didn't get around to cleaning up because you have too damn much junk in the first place? Yeah, it was like that. I've had to dig through those stupid boxes on a few occasions, because some of the stuff I threw in there was important papers or time-sensitive. They weren't exactly small boxes but not really big either. I had to two stacked one on top of the other, and they just reached my hip, so that was quite a bit of stuff. I think half of it was trash. Some of it was trash because I waited too long; some of it was trash because I'm never going to get around to using the recipe or sending in the rebate or putting that picture in a scrapbook; and some of it was trash because I'm an idiot and keep things that are trash. John took the garbage out right before he left, and I have it half full already.

Sadly, I haven't finished the job. I sorted everything out into piles. I have the filing pile, the picture pile, the scrapbook pile, the "do" pile, the "put away" pile, the magazine pile, the John pile, and the give away pile. I already took care of the trash pile, but the rest of them area lying about the house, still waiting to be put away or done or given a home. I absolutely cannot leave them lie there until morning, or I will end up putting it all back in one of the boxes and not touch it until February or so. I know how I work. Problem is I'm really tired, because I stayed up too late already (I can't believe I've converted to a kinda-sorta morning person!). I suppose I really should do that stuff no matter what and then go to bed.

If I don't do that, I will be fully disappointed in myself. As it stands, I'm only partially disappointed in myself, because I've been a training bum and haven't done a damn thing in days. I haven't felt all that well, and I was sad, but neither are great excuses. I planned to really go at it this week, and instead I did nothing. The only advantage is the bruises and scratches are much faded, so I can refresh them when I go out tomorrow. Speaking of scratches, I really need a tetanus shot. I can't get that until next week at the earliest though, and I have to go out tomorrow, tetanus or no. I refuse to use that as another lame excuse not to ride.

Tomorrow is going to be a very difficult day. I'm to ride an hour and twenty minutes and then run for thirty minutes. After this lazy week, I know I will suffer greatly, but I figure that's the price I pay. I'm just glad I got myself together enough to get my house in some order. That won't last if I don't pick up those piles though, so I'm off to do it, then get some sleep.


Today I got rid of:

2 broken picture frames
City map
Newspaper
Cursive workbook
Kid book
Stickers
2 green, yellow, and orange marker
1" thick pile of printouts (never used)
Woman's Day magazine
Play-doh
Aladdin and Bambi coloring books
Box of fluorescent markers
Star Wars puzzle


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >