Settling In
15 November, 2002 - 1:36 p.m.

Settling In

My second day at work was much better. Of course, being a half day, seeing only two patients while the rest cancelled or didn�t show up, and leaving early always make for a better day at work.

I was really worried about this day, because I was on my own. I only got to train with the person whom I�m replacing the one day, so that added to the overwhelm of that day. My boss wasn�t going to be there today either, so I worked with a replacement that had me very nervous, but that turned out just fine. I was also fretting over having to do the receptionist job, which is going to be a normal Friday duty for me. That was something about which I learned nothing at all on Wednesday. Luckily, everyone in the office is super nice and didn�t mind answering all my questions and handling things for me. I�ll learn more about that front desk stuff next week, so maybe I�ll be a little more useful as a receptionist by next Friday.

All Fridays are not supposed to be so easy. The other therapist had few patients and a lot of cancellations as well, so I didn�t really have to do anything as a receptionist anyway. No-shows and cancellations are pretty rare most Fridays from what everyone said, so I just got a break today. Someone was looking out for me.

My cold is a little better today, so that was good too. My stomach suddenly felt awful when I got in, and I thought for a while that I might be sick. Wouldn�t that have been a good impression on my second day? I really need to make sure I eat more than half an apple for breakfast. I�m sure that had something to do with it, along with taking cold medicine and ibuprofen on a mostly empty stomach. My nose feels packed with cotton, but at least my head isn�t hurting like it was yesterday. I don�t feel like I�ve been up for 72 hours straight either. I�m going to do my best to do as little as possible the rest of the day and try to kick this cold for good.

I�m rather surprised I got sick in the first place. Booie got sick Tuesday, but I know I�ve been warding it off since Monday. I�m not really sure where I got the bug. I�m an avid hand-washer. I haven�t had a cold in quite a long time until now. I hope that trend continues. I�m used to being the sickly one, but that changed when I started washing my hands 4000 times a day. With work, I will probably double or triple the amount of times I wash my hands in a day. I have to do it so often because of handling patients, cleaning, etc., so I should never catch a cold again. If only.

In other health news, my foot finally feels better, but I doubt I�ll be running anytime soon. I figured I�ll start off with some walking and build up from there. I get so irritated and frustrated when I get injured trying to do something good for myself. Ironically, now I�m working in a foot clinic. I already looked up the best things I can do for my injury. The only thing I don�t have is the splint to wear at night. Otherwise, I�m doing all the stretching and exercises that is supposed to help fasciitis. Now I just have to hope that it really is fasciitis and not the stress fracture that I actually suspect it might be. No running for me for another month. At least in that time I should have gotten my schedule down to where I can fit some exercise in.

I definitely feel a lot better about things today than I did on Wednesday. I still have a lot of reservations and worries. Monday is another long day, so I�ll see how that goes. It�s bound to get easier, and hopefully my feeling that I�m abandoning my kids will subside some too. I hate not being here every day when they go to school and get home. Already working has put my role as a mother in perspective, and that was one of the things I hoped for when I set out to get a job. So I�m no longer worrying about what in the world I got myself into, but that might change next week. It might change daily. I�m not allowing myself to back out until I have at least worked through my probationary period of 90 days though. If I�m still fretting and unhappy by that time, then I�ll know for sure what I need to do. Right now, I�m adjusting, and that could take a while.


Previous|Next

Two years ago
Losing Interest - "So maybe next week I'll have things to bitch about when I don't know what the hell I'm doing, and I get knocked off my high horse thinking I know so much more than I do."

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >