I make one of many resolutions
15 November, 2000 - 3:02 PM

From Now On

From now on, I'm going to get rid of my clutter.

Rather than burn my house to the ground, I figure I'm going to start cleaning up around here and sort through the clutter.

Oh my god. It's snowing. I hate winter.

So anyway, I decided I am going to get rid of at least one thing every day until such time that I have unearthed the futon in the basement and unpacked everything that has resided in boxes for more than two years. I can donate things or throw them away, but they must be gone. That means no donation box sitting by the basement door for eight months or junk piled in a heap in the back yard with the intent to put it in the trash pile sometime. So by "getting rid of" I mean in the garbage can or at Goodwill. I am determined to do this until I have declared this purge officially ended. Oh, and another thing� no counting the fifty things I threw out one day toward the following forty-nine days. That doesn't work. Every day. No exceptions.

Now I need to figure out what I'm getting rid of today. I can't count stuff that's already trash either, since I didn't mention that. I know myself too well. About three days from now, I'm going to be hunting excuses like a hound dog. Actually, I'll give myself five days. Yep. Five days until I've had enough of this particular project. I may even pretend I cleaned my whole house to get out of it. I'm really good at lying to myself. And I'm already avoiding throwing something out by sitting here and writing instead of actually doing something. I'm good like that.

Today I got rid of:

My Nike shoes with the bunched up stuffing in the heel
Video mailer box that's been used and thought I'd use it again
Some broken crayons
A bunch of mail order catalogues


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >