The Plan
16 March, 2001 - 10:59 AM

The Plan

I decided to take the plunge and join Asimba's nutrition and fitness program. I looked it over several times and mulled the idea more minutes than I can count. I was worried about it being a waste of money, but I ended up justifying it several ways.

First of all, I spent almost as much money per week when I went to Weight Watchers. I never liked how much WW cost, and I was especially angry that it cost $3 more per week than it did for my friend in Nebraska. It seems our area is under a corporate WW and theirs isn't, or vice versa. Whatever the case, it costs more here, and we don't have the liberty plan either. We have to go every single week. They get to pay a little extra (which just so happens to equal our regular weekly cost) and go at least once a month. So our local WW can stick it as far as I'm concerned, even if I was in a super duper group of people with a great leader.

To get even further off the subject, I did a little of my own analysis of the WW point system. It worked really well for me, even when I went over points quite a few times. So when I started to track my food on Dietwatch along with doing the points, I found out why. While staying within my points range, I was only eating about 1600 calories a day. I probably should have boosted that by eating more vegetables, but I'm not a big veggie lover. I was getting my minimum requirements. Maybe I was doing something wrong, but I did it for about two weeks, and the numbers were pretty consistent. I could go over on points and still only be eating 1800 calories. I should do a more in-depth analysis and see how much fat I was eating and such. I don't need to get sued by WW or anything. That would really piss me off!

So where was I? Oh yes� reasons why I joined Asimba's program. Well, besides the whole WW issue, the plan seemed reasonable. It's tailored for your needs, so you can choose how often you work out, if you want to use convenience foods, how much weight you want to lose and if there's an event you're training for. The meal plans don't have a lot of crazy food on them that is hard to make or even find in your regular grocery store. I like the site and have done some of their training programs and read the newsletter that comes in my email box. There's no minimum number of months you have to participate, so I figured "what the hell?"

I joined Tuesday, and I have to say, I've been pretty bad about following the diet portion of the program, but then, I wasn't able to go grocery shopping until after payday yesterday. I ran and got enough for today's breakfast and lunch and will shop for the rest this afternoon. It isn't that I don't like the meal plans. I just didn't have the stuff on hand to make the meals; so of course, I ate junky stuff instead. Not following the plan did allow me to have birthday cake last night too.

But today I'm doing it, and I really enjoyed breakfast. I got two waffles, two turkey sausage links and a glass of milk, which is way more than I ever eat for breakfast. I was a little leery of the sausage, because I don't like regular sausage. I figured I'd give them a try to see if the turkey was better, and I actually liked it. The only thing I'm missing is my coffee with cream. I'm an obvious coffee addict, and that's killing me. I don't drink it black. I'm seriously contemplating brewing a couple cups so I quit yawning constantly.

On the fitness side of it, I work out about three times a week right now and do strength training the same amount. I haven't been strength training for a very long time, and today is my first day for that, so I'll probably be sore again. I'm already sore today from that darn Tae-bo tape I did yesterday. I guess I just needed a few days of it to start getting sore. My ass is killing me.

Hopefully this program will work well for me and get me going. As soon as my adventure race partner gets over the flu, he's going to work with me. I never even thought to ask him to be my personal trainer. Duh. It's only what he does for a living as a physical therapist. But then, I doubt I would have asked him to do it for me anyway.

After figuring out how much weight I need to lose and how many weeks I have to do it, I really need to be strict about my program. I will need all the support I can get, because I know I'll have trip-ups every so often. We'll see how it goes!


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >