Bad Neck Ruins Day
16 April, 2005 - 11:52 p.m.

I got up at 9:30 AM, ate breakfast and was ready to work out when I turned my head and felt it. It started as a twinge, so I stretched one way, then the other, trying to work it out, but it got worse. So I thought, rest it, which I did. That didn't help either. Every little move I made seemed to aggravate it more. As a last resort, I lay down again to really rest it. Didn't budge for an hour. Still not better. In fact, worse still. By that time, I had to pick up Hammy who slept at his friend's. My plan of exercising and showering before I left the house was thoroughly crushed.

Driving served to make matters worse yet. All that aching and having things go so against how I wanted sent me straight to the English Toffee cake when I got home. Again and again. It was a busy day, having to shop for Hammy's Florida trip and going to the Cubs game (people around here think it's a Pirates game, but I know better), so the neck never got any better and neither did the eating. I never worked out either, just walked to and from the stadium and around the stores. I feel pretty crummy about that. I've pulled it out every other day, and I really wanted this week to be 100%. I'm sure that too helped nudge me toward the cake, which totally didn't help.

Weigh-in day is tomorrow, and I'm really bummed now. Stupid cake. Stupid me. Stupid neck. Seems all I do is ache now that I'm taking better care of myself. Makes all the effort seem worthless sometimes, especially today.

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >