At Least the Cats Will Enjoy It
16 September, 2003 - 11:49 a.m.

I said I'd do after pics of the porch, and for once, I'm doing it!

I am easily pleased. I got a big kick out of the fuzzy, light, heavenly quality of this photo. I know the cooler is still there, but the rest looks so much better that I really don't care. The cooler has been near a permanent fixture on that porch since we moved in, but it still needs cleaned out. That's not my job. That is John's job, and I won't do it. The rest is so improved that I'm not worried about it right now. There are other things I want him to do more.

Notice how much of the junk that is gone? No fan. No pool equipment. No Flapping Flamingo. No nasty, stinking throw rug. And... no screen door! That screen door has been absolutely useless. We always propped the thing open and left it that way. I thought it would be good to close it in the winter to help keep the cold out, but once we got a dog and had to take her out that door, we kept it propped open year-round. And since the door is so darn tight in the doorjamb that even Booie can't open it by herself, I don't think cold leakage is going to be a big problem. The front door, on the other hand, well, we're not talking about the front porch today.

And then there's the other angle. The only thing remaining from before, besides the furniture itself, are the cushions for the patio furniture and the recycling bin. I'm afraid the recycling bin stays, but at least it's not up on the table for the whole neighborhood to see. The cushions simply don't have a home right now, so they will just get moved around when we want to sit on the porch. The shoes, trash bag, dead irises, and miscellaneous junk are all gone, most in the garbage. I can now go sit on my porch and enjoy myself.

It's just unfortunate our neighbor with the very nice yard likes to work out there much of the day and listens to the oldies station. Now I don't mind some oldies, but I don't care for a whole afternoon of it. And I certainly don't care for pounding and sawing while I'm trying to read or write. Makes me wonder why I wanted to clean this porch off so bad in the first place.

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:
On the Trail Again (from two years ago)

|

< previous | next >