Gratuitous Interruptions
17 February, 2001 - 9:13 PM

Gratuitous Interruptions

It seems every time I get a minute to write today, the phone rings. My mom called, then John's mom called. Pretty soon, John should be home, so if I don't have the kids in need of mommy mediation, I'll get interrupted then.

I never know if I'm spelling interrupted right, or embarrass, or occasion. License is another bad word for me, as could be seen when I wrote it and scribbled it out twice. Certain words just hang me up for some reason. There are more, some I'm sure I don't even know, but I'm not going to make this Cindy's spelling bee.

I've always been pretty good at spelling, so it really drives me nuts when I have trouble with it. I'm downright disgusted when I find out a word I thought was spelled correctly for ages turns out to be wrong. I hate being ignorant about spelling.

Another thing I always used to take pride in was my grammar knowledge. I kicked ass in grammar in school. I never used to be able to make grammar "mistakes" but now I am able to knowingly do so. I always used to want perfect grammar. I used to be the same way with grammar as I am about spelling--I hated finding out I'd been doing something incorrectly. It's not that I couldn't admit I was wrong. I just hated that I was ignorant. Well, I still hate being ignorant, or maybe more like finding out I was ignorant. Just being ignorant is a pretty happy place.

Anyway, now I'm not so stringent with my grammar. Not only does that make me feel less stupid when ignorance is revealed, but it also allows me to express some things strict grammar does not. My writing is more conversational, and I like that. And let's not even go look at past journals for grammar errors when I'm saying I was all picky. Remember, there was a lot more ignorance then.

That is an understatement. I believe I will be able to use that statement for the rest of my life too, unless there comes a time when I really do know it all and don't just think that I do. There probably wouldn't be much fun in life if that ever happened. Well, maybe fun, but no bliss. Heh.

I've failed miserably at my goals today. I'm getting laundry done, but that wasn't one of my focus goals. I let too much get in my way. I'll drink the water. At the very least, I can do that.

It's time to get stuff out of the dryer. At least I won't be a total failure.


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >