Thwarted by Germs
17 December, 2000 - 1:12 PM

Thwarted by Germs

I woke up this morning with a cold. Actually, I woke up several times last night because of a cold that was creeping into my system. I think I stressed myself into illness, which only causes more stress, because it makes it harder for me to get everything done. And I swear, every single time I set a goal, I get sick. So I just doomed myself by saying I was finally going to realize my adventure racing dream. I should have waited until after Christmas.

I have already put my race training plan into action. I set up a training schedule to begin on December 26th. That's my big day. I will start by walking/running to get myself into something that qualifies as "in shape." Since I'm nowhere near that right now, I think that's a pretty good start. I will probably do some Tae-Bo on the side as well as start a weight training program once John and I join a gym. Now if I can just get rid of this cold, I'll be great.

I made John go buy me a bag of zinc lozenges before he left for the recording studio. As soon as I'm done with this last cup of coffee, I'll be sucking on zinc the rest of the day. One of the good things about those lozenges (besides claiming to help you get well) is they make everything taste like shit. I never want to eat when I suck on those things. I know it won't make me skinny by Christmas, but maybe it will reduce my appetite enough that I don't want to eat a five course meal at every sitting.

I took one of the big vitamin C horse pills too as well as a mult-vitamin. I hate taking pills, but I'm desperate. I've heard too many horror stories of the misery that is flying with a head cold. I can deal with a cold at home over the holidays. I don't know if I can deal with my head exploding just so I can visit Mom and Dad for three days, but I will have to if I can't get rid of this.

Oh, those nasty, nasty germs. I hate them! They are telling me to lie on the couch all day and not go shopping or bake or vacuum like I need to do. There isn't even a Steelers game today to give me a backup excuse to lie on the couch. I have to buy a saw, so I can chop off six inches of the too-tall Christmas tree we bought yesterday. I have to get that tree out of my garage and into my living room. I still have to rearrange that living room. I have to decorate that tree. I have six more people to buy gifts for. I have a pair of pants to exchange, so Hammy doesn't go naked. I have cookies to make. I have a curtain to sew! But there's so many germs. So many, many germs. How am I, one person, to stand up to all of them? It's making me tired just thinking about it.


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >