Nothing Cohesive
18 March, 2003 - 9:30 a.m.

Today is the fourth and seemingly final day of nice, spring-like weather here. I am sad to say I haven't taken full advantage of our little taste of spring because I felt unbelievably lazy this weekend. That's kind of what John wanted to do for his birthday anyway, so I did it right along with him. I did go outside, even sitting on the front porch with the laptop at one point while John and I played a game, but I didn't do all the active things that so many other people were doing.

Yesterday was super-nice too, but I was at work all day long. I did walk and even ran a little after work. It was still very nice then, and I regretted wearing pants instead of shorts. My caution in believing the weatherman explains that. At least I didn't have to shave my legs.

Maureen and I went to the track at CMU and decided to jog one lap then walk two and did that for four sets. Adding in the walk to and from the parking lot gave me 10,000 steps alone. The walk to and from the parking lot to work and all the walking I did at work and home was another 10,000, so I was over 20,000 for the day. I didn't feel so bad about being a bum on Sunday after that.

I'm talking about all this because I don't really want to talk about the war. My stomach did flops all day yesterday whenever I'd hear the news on the radio we have on at work. I expected it, but as everyone knows, expecting something and having it happen are different things. I can't say I'm completely against going into Iraq, but I can't say I'm completely for it either. I think the situation has been handled extremely poorly. To me, President Bush is like a "Because I said so" parent, and as any kid knows, that doesn't cut it. It breeds resentment and frustration; two things we certainly don't need right now. Even if the war turns out as expected, and the US comes out the sweeping victor, there will be more bridges to fix than those in Iraq.

In more personal news, John's parents are still together after saying a separation was imminent. I don't know if it's money or hope that's keeping them together, and I don't ask. I have enough problems without getting snared by theirs. We did see them this weekend though. They went to dinner with us on Friday for John's birthday, and you'd never know there was a problem by seeing them that night. It was the first time I'd seen John's dad since January, so it was nice to talk to him again.

Their situation is a big topic in counseling the last couple weeks. Last week, we finally got into what this is teaching us and went from there. John and I have been doing well, so we often find ourselves at a loss lately. I'm confronting things more readily, and he's more responsive. I hesitate to think we're really getting somewhere. Do I see big changes in the future? No. I'm still realistic, something I never really was until recently. And maybe it's that honesty with myself about what our relationship is that makes things work better.

I told myself I'd exercise again today even though part of me says that I did two times the recommended steps yesterday, so I could count that for today. The other part knows that's not how it should work. I need to stick to my plan.

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:
In Another World

|

< previous | next >