The Beaten Path
18 April, 2001 - 8:45 a.m.

The Beaten Path

I feel less than horrible today. The good news is the trip went well but super-duper busy. I didn't have time for anything other than the reason we went. It was nonstop running from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. We got to the hotel an hour later than I planned on Sunday because we just couldn't get it all done in time. The visit was good though, as was the flight both ways. We all had a nice time. Then I got home...

I was tired the whole flight home, but I attributed that to having to get at up 4:15 AM to get ready and leave for the airport by 5. By the time we arrived in Pittsburgh, I was most exhausted. John got bits of sleep on the plane, and both kids slept almost the entire first flight of the two. We stopped to get lunch before going home, and I knew I shouldn't have ordered, but I did anyway. My state descended even further until I got home and went straight to bed.

I crawled into bed, clothes and all and didn't get out for at least five hours. I relocated to the couch where I vegetated the rest of the night, eventually building up a healthy fever and delirium. I woke up on the floor beside the couch when John told me to get back in bed. I thought I was feeling a little better until I woke up several times that night, first with chills, then with sweats, lather, rinse, repeat. I had a good dose of body aches throughout the ordeal too.

Morning seemed a touch better, but there was a new element of many trips to the bathroom. I'll spare the details. That hasn't quit even this morning, though the rest of me is feeling quite a bit better, and the fever is gone. So it's best I make this short. I hope to cover my weekend more pleasantly after I don't have to take frequent breaks from typing. It really was more good than bad.


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >