Falling Behind
18 June, 2005 - 11:41 a.m.

I got a call at about 8:45 a.m. from a bill collector. One of our bills that happens to be in my name only wasn't paid. It's about a week overdue, and they want their money. Understandable, but I am a little angry they have to be such hardasses about it. We've been very good about paying until this one time, something the collector even commented upon without prompting. It seems like they could at least give me thirty days like most creditors do. But that's just the start of my anger and frustration.

I'm angry because they called me before 9 a.m. on a Saturday, and the first time, it wasn't even a person. I got the "please hold" call, which I never do. If they call me, I'm not being put on hold before I even know who the hell is calling me. About ten minutes later a person was on the line when I answered. I don't care if it is legal, before 9 a.m. on a Saturday is too early. And the call and ask you to hold should be illegal.

I'm angry with myself for answering. I never did put the caller ID in bedroom, so I would have had to get up and go in the kitchen to see I didn't want to pick up. I don't answer "Unknown" calls and 800 numbers or anything else that is usually something annoying. Hammy spent the night at a friend's, so I felt I needed to answer, since I was too lazy to get up. I also hate that I answered the second call without checking, even though I figured the "please hold" assholes would try calling back. I feel stupid and lazy.

Then there was the frustration of the call itself. And this collector wasn't even the worst I've had. Still, it was a collector. That in itself sucks. They want money you obviously don't have. Never an easy situation. What's worse is not even knowing the situation because John hasn't shown me. He showed me once, offered to show me again this week at 11:00 at night when I was pooped, so I've seen our finances once and just don't know what happened that the bill wasn't paid or when we will be able to pay it. But the bill is in my name only, which means I'm responsible. At least, it means I am supposed to be. Of course, the collector didn't fail to point that out when I said my husband handles the bills and that I would have to check with him.

Next was the checking with him, which was several rounds of excuses and defensiveness. More anger and frustration built with that for more reasons than I care to list.

So between my own stupidity and laziness, butthead bill collectors, and husband in denial with a touch of irresponsibility, I'm feeling angry, sad, and a bit hopeless. And helpless too. Can't forget that, because I'm rather stuck at the time as far as this situation goes. But do I seem to be able to let go of it until Monday? I doubt I need to answer that.

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >