Please, no more rollercoaster
19 January, 2001 - 5:55 to 10:35 PM

This and the next few entries are transposed from my paper journal I've been keeping while at the hospital. They were written as things happened. It's been a bumpy ride. If I only knew then what I know now.

5:55 PM - Please, no more rollercoaster

Yesterday was scary, but I don't think it compares to today. For a while...

10:14 PM - No Attention Span

I can hardly pay attention long enough to write the time and title.

10:35 PM - Did you say something?

Let's see if I can get more than one sentence out.

Yesterday: found out there was some swelling on Booie's spine, MRI of the brain was set for the next day as well as another spinal tape while under anesthesia, told this was probably auto-immune/viral meningitis

Today: awakened at 6:30 AM to go to MRI after expecting to go at noon, "impressive" results were found in MRI, unsurpassed protein levels found in spinal fluid, diagnosis complicated by results, assigned as neurology case, Infectious Disease consulted to rule out bacterial infection, super steriods prescribed and given about 9:40 PM after it was decided diagnosis was viral in origin, term given with words "acute" something "encephalo" something, told Boo's case would probably become a clinical study due to the odd way she presented

That's the short version. Lost in the facts is my big breakdown and nearly yelling at the doctor. We were called super parents or something along those lines. I was absolutely exhausted much of the day. I need sleep. I'm not going to write anything coherent in this state. I already can't pay attention. This took 25 minutes to write, and I'm having trouble writing the right words. Time to try and get a little sleep... more than last night at least.


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >